Skip to main content

Philosophy

undefinedChinese scarf with calligraphy of yin-yang philosophy, (spells and invocations), part of principles of the Tao  is licensed under CC-BY-NC-ND 2.5 CA

Articles

Learn where to find journals articles on the library webpage, and how to discover these on databases.

 

Find articles on Library Search

Use Library Search to read journal articles online if you know their tittle and author name(s).

Use Find an eJournal, the library's A to Z of digital journals, to see what journals we have in the library.

 

Key databases - philosophy articles

 

Key interdisciplinary database for philosophy

 

Other useful databases

Why use databases?

Use databases if you want to do a quick and thorough search for a topic across many journals. You won’t find these resources on free search engines like Google. Databases have more powerful and advanced search engines than Google or Library Search. You will need to search across multiple databases to find a broader range of literature. By reading journal articles, you keep up to date with quick-paced research before it becomes incorporated in books. 

 

Tips on using databases

Some databases include full-text versions of articles and others only have bibliographic details. When the full text is not available, try the Get It @Bristol Univ button to see if there is a link to the full text in the library.

Philosophy databases, maintained by philosophers themselves, cover the most current and comprehensive bibliographies of research in journals. There are also interdisciplinary databases, like Web of Science, which are excellent for finding materials when philosophy intersects with other disciplines and areas in science, social sciences, arts and the humanities. These are useful for tracing the impact of philosophers' research within and across disciplines.

 

Database research tutorial

Effective research with databases

A self-help tutorial on effective research with databases.

Guide to PhilPapers