Accessing newspaper content
You can access newspaper articles from current or recent years via Lexis Library and Factiva. These contain full text versions of newspaper content, but not images. The Library also provides access to The Economist and The Financial Times
- Economist, the This link opens in a new window
**Note: you need to register with your UoB email account the first time you access this resource**. A weekly magazine-format newspaper which is also published digitally. Its primary focus is current affairs, international business, politics, and technology. The University of Bristol’s online subscription covers unlimited access to all articles at Economist.com, including blog content updated throughout the week.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
Database from Dow Jones which includes industry data drawn from international news sources. Includes full-text access to news sources such as Wall Street Journal and New York Times.
Company snapshot section includes latest news, key developments such M&A/ownership changes and new products, peer comparison, financial reports for public companies.
Industry snapshot section includes approximately 30 industries globally and provides targeted news, reports, charts, analysis and financial data. - Financial Times This link opens in a new window
Historical Archives
The library provides access to various newspaper archives - these cover historical editions and for copyright reasons do not cover recent editions. These are digital versions of printed newspapers with exact copies of each page including images, formatting and layout. Titles include:
- Daily Mail Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
The Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004 includes more than one hundred years of this major UK national newspaper, viewable in full digital facsimile form, with copious advertisements, news stories, and images that capture twentieth-century culture and society
- Economist Historical Archive, the This link opens in a new window
Complete facsimile archive for the Economist.
- Guardian/Observer Archive (1791-2003) This link opens in a new window
This archive contains digital images of the full text of the Guardian and Observer newspapers.
- Telegraph Historical Archive (1855-2000) This link opens in a new window
The Telegraph Historical Archive contains full digital coverage of issues from the first in 1855 to 2000.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The Times Digital Archive includes digital images of every issue from its launch in 1785. The last three years of issues are not included in this archive.
Using Factiva
Help with newspapers
The Library has guidance for people looking to use newspaper archives for their research.