LibGuides: Innovation and Entrepreneurship: Images and other artifacts

Library

Fish trap, Kepke artist (maker), mid-20^th c, Liberia; National Museum of African Art Collection, US.

Images and other artifacts

Images and other artifacts are key primary sources for some of your projects. Primary sources are the original first-hand records of a particular culture, event, time period, or an original research study. These primary sources are curated in archives, libraries and museums. You can consult these via specialist subscription databases as well as publicly available online collections provided by museums, heritage sites and other cultural institutions.

The Library holds a large collection of printed materials that research and publish such sources. You can find these via Library Search. These include catalogues of artefacts and art objects.

Image databases

ARTSTOR
Primary source database for works of art
Vogue Archive
A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.

Museums, collections and heritage

For specific units, your resource lists direct you to the organisations, professional bodies and collections that are most relevant to your learning and professional development. Below are further resources that may inspire you in your discovery of digitised primary sources relevant for your research.

The Association of Science and Technology Centers (ASTC)
The Association of Science and Technology Centers (ASTC) is a professional membership organization with a vision of increased understanding of—and engagement with—science and technology among all people and a mission to champion and support science and technology centers and museums. The ASTC champions and supports more than 500 science and technology centers and museums, natural history museums, children’s museums, and other STEM-rich, place-based institutions, such as nature centers, aquariums, planetariums, zoos, and botanical gardens throughout North America and in nearly 50 countries, as well as nearly 200 other organizations that share an interest in science learning and engagement.
The Association of Tribal Archives, Libraries and Museums (ATALM)
The Association of Tribal Archives, Libraries, and Museums (ATALM) is dedicated to preserving and advancing the language, history, culture, and lifeways of indigenous peoples worldwide with an emphasis on indigenous peoples in the US. On an annual basis, it offers professionally guided learning opportunities to over 2,600 tribal cultural practitioners from 352 Native Nations, as well as online training to an additional 1,432 participants.
Council for the Preservation of Anthropological Records (CoPAR)
The Council for the Preservation of Anthropological Records (CoPAR) fosters awareness of the importance of preserving anthropological records, to provide technical support to archival repositories, provide information on records location and access, and foster collaboration between archivists at institutional repositories and in Native communities. Today CoPAR is revitalizing its efforts as a network that supports producers, users, and stewards of the record of human diversity in the digital age. We advocate for access to archival records while encouraging repositories and users to be culturally-responsive and ethical. We provide resources for anthropologists, librarians, archivists, information specialists, Indigenous communities, museum professionals, historians, linguists, educators, students, and others to locate repositories and find resources relating to the care and use of archival materials. The CoPAR is supported by the University of Maryland and the Wenner-Gren Foundation.
Educational and Virtual Tours resources list, AIA
The Archaeological Institute of America (AIA) advances awareness, education, fieldwork, preservation, publication, and research of archaeological sites and cultural heritage throughout the world. This resource list includes online educational resources from the AIA and other institutions, and links to virtual museums, sites and exhibits.
The International Council of Museums (ICOM)
The International Council of Museums (ICOM) is a membership association and a non-governmental organisation which establishes professional and ethical standards for museum activities. As forum of experts, it makes recommendations on issues related to cultural heritage, promotes capacity building and advances knowledge. ICOM is the voice of museum professionals on international stage and raises public cultural awareness through global networks and co-operation programmes. The ICOM has 44,686 professional members from over 138 countries.
The Sustainable Heritage Network (SHN)
The Sustainable Heritage Network (SHN) is a collaborative project that complements the work of indigenous peoples globally to preserve, share, and manage cultural heritage and knowledge. The Sustainable Heritage Network is managed by the Center for Digital Scholarship and Curation at Washington State University and funded in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
UNESCO World Heritage Centre
Established in 1992, the World Heritage Centre is the focal point and coordinator within UNESCO for all matters related to World Heritage. Ensuring the day-to-day management of the Convention, the Centre organizes the annual sessions of the World Heritage Committee and its Bureau, provides advice to States Parties in the preparation of site nominations, organises international assistance from the World Heritage Fund upon request, and coordinates both the reporting on the condition of sites and the emergency action undertaken when a site is threatened. The Centre also organises technical seminars and workshops, updates the World Heritage List and database, develops teaching materials to raise awareness among young people of the need for heritage preservation, and keeps the public informed of World Heritage issues.

Selective collections and archives

Institutions produce digital reproductions of primary sources that can be searched for remotely in collections and archives. These include reproductions of images and other artifacts, landscapes and the built environment.

Ashmolean Museum - Ceramics
Discover ceramics from around the world in the Ashmolean's online collection.

The Design Museum, London
The Design Museum covers product, industrial, graphic, fashion and architectural design. In 2018, the museum won the European Museum of the Year Award.

British Museum, the - Explore the collection
Get closer to the British Museum's collection and immerse yourself in two million years of history, across six continents. Collection online has been completely redeveloped, making it much easier to find what you want. It allows access to almost four and a half million objects in more than two million records.
Pitt Rivers Museum Online Collections
Founded in 1884, the Pitt Rivers Museum houses more than 500,000 objects, photographs and manuscripts from all over the world, and from all periods of human existence. Within these are exceptional objects of ritual significance, and objects made for tourists or trade. You can browse the online collections of photographs, manuscripts and objects.
Smithsonian, Department of Anthropology: Archives and Collections
The Smithsonian, Department of Anthropology maintains ethnographic, archaeological and human biological collections numbering over two million items from around the world and employs state-of-the-art collections management and care. Extensive holdings of fieldnotes, manuscripts, photographs, film, videos and sound recordings are housed in the National Anthropological Archives and Human Studies Film Archives. The John Wesley Powell Library of Anthropology includes over 80,000 volumes.
Europeana

Local collections and archives

These are located in Bristol and the south west region.

Bath Record Office
The Bath Record Office holds archival records for Bath and the surrounding area.
Bristol Museums and Archives
Includes the collections of Bristol Archives, Bristol Museum and Art Gallery and other local museums such as M Shed and the Red Lodge Museum.
South West Heritage Trust
Includes local archives for Devon and Somerset
University of Bristol Special Collections
The Special Collections of the University of Bristol Library comprise a rich and diverse range of printed books and journals, archival resources and artefacts.

University of Bristol Theatre Collection
One of the world’s largest archives of British theatre history and Live Art.

Special Collections

The University of Bristol Special Collections contains a vast and diverse range of materials dating from the 11th century to the present day.