Skip to main content

Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Detail, Alec Jeffreys. The first DNA fingerprint  is licensed under Attribution 4.0 InternationaL (CC BY 4.0). The Wellcome Collection.

 

Data and statistics

Learn where to find data relevant for your assignments, and how to get help with using and interpreting these.

 

Research data is the information collected, observed, generated and created in research. It includes statistics which are summaries of numeric data.

Research data is used to underpin the claims made in research. Crucially, if data is transparent and made widely availability, it can be assessed for its reliability and validity; it can be re-interpreted; and it can be re-used in future research. Research data can be accessed via databases and digital repositories. Some of these are paid for by the library, while others make the research freely available on the web.  

 

Databases with social, economics and finance statistics

 

Database with spatial data

 

Databases with ethnographic data 

Institutional repositories

Many institutions collect peer-reviewed author manuscripts and pre-prints from their academics and put them into digital repositories. This provides easy, open access to high quality scientific publications.

Research outputs across the Sciences, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities can be found on the University of Bristol's research repository - Explore Bristol Research

You can access other institutional repositories and search their contents using the OpenDOAR directory

Maths and statistics - additional support

The study skills area on Blackboard has information on support for Maths and Statistics via self-paced online resources, one-to-one meetings and workshops.

The online sources include this resource on Reading Charts and Tables 

For library resources to develop your research skills, see the Study and Research Skills section in this guide.