LibGuides: Geographical Sciences: Maps and map data

British Library Maps
The British Library has one of the largest collections of maps, plans and topographical views in the world, numbering some 4.5 million, with a chronological spread of over 2,000 years.

Digimap
Please note: you need to register to access Digimap modules the first time. Click to 'Log In' in the top right hand corner.

Digimap comprises maps and map data, including the following: Digimap - Ordnance Survey Collection, Environment Digimap, Historic Digimap, Geology Digimap, Marine Digimap and Aerial and Lidar Digimap. Create or interrogate a map online by selecting an appropriate base map, adding annotations and customising the content, use measurement and query tools to learn more about any study area. Download the raw spatial data in a wide range of formats.

National Library of Scotland Maps
A free resource from the National Library of Scotland providing digitised map images, LiDAR, Ordnance Survey and historical maps. Visit the help pages for tips on using the site.

Royal Geographical Society (with IBG), Parts I and II (Wiley Digital Archives)
The Royal Geographical Society (with Institute of British Geographers) promotes the advancement of geographical science in all its aspects. The Society’s archive contains vast collections of documents, maps, photographs, expedition reports, manuscript materials and books, and span 500 years of geography, travel and exploration. The RGS holds one of the largest private map collections in the world. It includes one million sheets of maps and charts, 3000 atlases, 40 globes (as gores or mounted on stands) and 1000 gazetteers. The earliest printed cartographic item dates back to 1485.

Please send any feedback to: Subject-Librarians@bristol.ac.uk

Decolonial Atlas
A growing collection of maps which, in some way, help us to challenge our relationships with the land, people, and state. It’s based on the premise that cartography is not as objective as we’re made to believe.
Geograph
The Geograph® Britain and Ireland project aims to collect geographically representative photographs and information for every square kilometre of Great Britain and Ireland, and you can be part of it.