LibGuides: Geographical Sciences: Journals and Databases

Library

Journals and Databases

The University of Bristol Library subscribes to a huge number of journals (also called serials) electronically.

If you have a specific journal in mind search by the title using the ejournals A-Z index or alternatively you can search by title or subject at Browzine:

If an electronic version is not available, we may have it in print. This is sometimes the case for older journal articles (pre-1999). Print copies of journals are held in our libraries and can be located using Library Search. If in doubt, please contact me as your Subject Librarian.

If you do not have a specific journal in mind then the most effective way to search for journal articles and beyond is to use the large number of databases that the Library subscribes to.

If you are on campus you can access most databases and ejournals directly.

For off-campus access use the links to resources from Library pages to ensure you gain access to all our subscribed content.

Multidisciplinary databases

Key databases covering a wide range of subject areas:

JSTOR
Visit the JSTOR Support site for tips on effective searching.
Scopus
Visit the Scopus tutorials for guidance on effective searching.
Web of Science Core Collection
Visit the Web of Science training materials.

Other useful multidisciplinary databases:

Gale Academic OneFile
For help using this database, click on the Help button at the bottom of the page.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. IBSS includes journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.
Oxford Academic
The home of academic research from Oxford University Press. Includes book and journal content from across the Arts and Humanities, Law, Health, Science and Mathematics, and Social Sciences. Incorporates the Oxford Handbook series, and the Very Short Introductions.
OECD iLibrary

The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
SciELO Citation Index on Web of Science
Science, social science, and arts and humanities research published in open access journals from Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa.
SpringerLink
Access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works published by Springer

Agricultural sources

A selection of resources to help with research relating to agriculture and related disciplines.

CAB Abstracts
Abstracts and some full-text access to information across subjects such as agriculture, global health, nutrition, economics, the environment

CABI
CABI is a nonprofit intergovernmental development and information organisation focusing primarily on agricultural and environmental issues in the developing world, and the creation, curation, and dissemination of scientific knowledge.
LandIS
LandIS (Land Information System) is the largest UK national and international centre for research in soils and their interaction with the atmosphere, land use, geology and water resources. Produced by the Soil and Agrifood Institute at Cranfield University

OECD iLibrary

The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
Search (AGRICOLA, PubAg, and NALDC)
The US National Agricultural Library's search system for agricultural information.