Books and ebooks can be found on Library Search. You can search by author, title or keyword to find books, articles and other resources. Books are available in digital or print form, with some available as both. The search result for a book or eBook will show a link to the eBook (where available) or the details of the library that holds the book together with its classmark and availability.
Finding print books
The majority of the relevant print books will be available from the Wills Memorial Library, although you may find you need to visit other libraries.
Each book is assigned a classmark. You will find the location and classmark for each book on Library Search. For example, when you search for the book An Introduction to Physical Geography and the Environment by Holden the classmark will show as Oversize GB54.5 INT. Classmarks are recorded on the spines of books (note that the Oversize collection is located before the main run of books in the Wills Memorial Library - ask a member of staff if you need help).
Reading lists
You will obtain information about the books and other resources that you will need to read from your reading lists, which will usually be found on Blackboard.
If you feel that the collection is missing a key item you need then please let us know by filling in a 'Suggest a book purchase' form. Your recommendations are always welcome.
Finally, don't forget that you can use any of the Libraries and Study Spaces provided by Library Services.
eBook Collections
Major subject collections in Law, Business, Geography, and Social Sciences
Access to books, journal articles and collections from across the social sciences that address global social challenges and support the UN Sustainable Development Goals.
Access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works published by Springer
Academic open access books from hundreds of participating Publishers.
O'Reilly for Higher Education (OHE) is a collection of full-text books and other resources specializing in computer programming and information technology. The database includes more than 35,000 book titles, plus 30,000+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, expert playlists, audio books, and more.
We have now expanded our leisure reading 'Bristol Reads' collections to provide audiobooks and ebooks! Download the Libby App https://www.overdrive.com/apps/libby and search for University of Bristol or access via your browser.
Sign in via your Library card and login with your university email and password to enjoy!
Learn how to expand your assignment research beyond the unit reading list. This tutorial shows you how to research your topic with Library Search, and introduces you to subject databases.
A self-help tutorial on using Library Search effectively to find books, articles and other resources.
