English

The Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus is an online database consisting of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text. In some cases, more than one copy is included, if it is significant because of dialect or date.

Dramatic works by playwrights from antiquity to the present day. Includes playtexts, audio and video content of productions.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains page images of nearly every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700.

Provides access to literary works and secondary source materials covering literature and authors throughout history and across the globe. It includes thousands of full-text poems and poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, plays, biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary.

Searchable database of ancient Greek and Latin texts with English translations.

Scholarly editions of literary, historical and philosophical works from antiquity to the end of the 19th century. Alongside the texts are substantial introductions, notes and commentaries.

Manuscripts written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. This project seeks to rediscover early modern women authors who were “lost” because their writing exists only in manuscript form.
This resource is part of AM Explorer.

An excellent resource for literary study and research, including references to scholarly books, theses, journals and other critical materials, and approximately 500,000 literary works from around the globe. Highly recommended for in depth research. Note: ProQuest One Literature incorporates Literature Online (LION)

This collection includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters which span 300 years. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

Dramatic works by playwrights from antiquity to the present day. Includes playtexts, audio and video content of productions.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains page images of nearly every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700.

Over 180,000 publications from the 18th Century, including literary works, and many other disciplines such as history, religion, law, fine arts, and science.

An archive of almost every play submitted for licence between 1737 and 1824, and hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays.
This resource is part of A M Explorer.

Provides access to literary works and secondary source materials covering literature and authors throughout history and across the globe. It includes thousands of full-text poems and poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, plays, biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary.

Digitised images of nearly 200 17th and 18th century manuscripts from the Brotherton Collection, University of Leeds Library.
This resource is part of AM Explorer.

Scholarly editions of literary, historical and philosophical works from antiquity to the end of the 19th century. Alongside the texts are substantial introductions, notes and commentaries.

Full texts of literary works and other writings from the 18th and 19th century. Includes editorial apparatus such as introduction, explanatory notes and bibliographies.

Manuscripts written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. This project seeks to rediscover early modern women authors who were “lost” because their writing exists only in manuscript form.
This resource is part of AM Explorer.

An excellent resource for literary study and research, including references to scholarly books, theses, journals and other critical materials, and approximately 500,000 literary works from around the globe. Highly recommended for in depth research. Note: ProQuest One Literature incorporates Literature Online (LION)

A major online collection of working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers.
This resource is part of AM Explorer.

Shakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
This resource is part of AM Explorer.

This resource documents the performance and construction history of the new Globe and the indoor theatre space of the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse. The material in this archive will be useful to students or researchers interested in Shakespeare in performance, theatre history, early-modern theatre and the cultural history of Shakespeare.
This resource is part of AM Explorer.

Black Drama, now in its expanded third edition, contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print.

This collection includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters which span 300 years. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

This resource contains more than 8,600 digitized items produced for, about and, in some cases, by children and youth in the decades between the 1810s and the 1920s – a key period in the history of juvenile culture that incorporates the era regarded as the first ‘golden age’ of children’s literature.
This resource is part of AM Explorer.

Dramatic works by playwrights from antiquity to the present day. Includes playtexts, audio and video content of productions.

An archive of almost every play submitted for licence between 1737 and 1824, and hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays.
This resource is part of A M Explorer.

Literary works and secondary source materials covering literature and authors throughout history and across the globe. It includes thousands of full-text poems and poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, plays, biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary.

This includes digitised images of notebooks, manuscripts, drawings and documents relating to Victorian literary figures from the Berg Collection at New York Public Library.
This resource is part of AM Explorer.

Scholarly editions of literary, historical and philosophical works from antiquity to the end of the 19th century. Alongside the texts are substantial introductions, notes and commentaries.

Full texts of literary works and other writings from the 18th and 19th century. Includes editorial apparatus such as introduction, explanatory notes and bibliographies.

An excellent resource for literary study and research, including references to scholarly books, theses, journals and other critical materials, and approximately 500,000 literary works from around the globe. Highly recommended for in depth research.
Note: ProQuest One Literature incorporates Literature Online (LION)

An online collection of working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers.
This resource is part of AM Explorer.

A collection of new drama with a focus on women’s drama, international drama, drama in translation, and drama by black and Asian writers.

Black Drama, now in its expanded third edition, contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print.

Includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters which span 300 years. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

Dramatic works by playwrights from antiquity to the present day. Includes playtexts, audio and video content of productions.

Provides access to a wealth of literary works and secondary source materials covering literature and authors throughout history and across the globe. It includes thousands of full-text poems and poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, plays, biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary.

Creative writing magazine for and by women. Contains literary works and advice on the publishing industry.

Approximately 650 plays from many of the UK and Ireland’s preeminent playwrights. It offers a wide and varied range of award-winning and widely studied plays, and is continually updated with new works fresh from leading theatres.

Approximately 500 plays from the UK and abroad, some of which are in translation.

Scholarly editions of literary, historical and philosophical works, The majority of the works are from antiquity to the end of the 19th century although some notable texts from the 20th century are being added. Alongside the texts are substantial introductions, notes and commentaries.

An excellent resource for literary study and research, including references to scholarly books, theses, journals and other critical materials, and approximately 500,000 literary works from around the globe. Highly recommended for in depth research.
Note: ProQuest One Literature incorporates Literature Online (LION)