LibGuides: Earth Sciences: Journals and Databases

Library

Journals and Databases

The University of Bristol Library subscribes to a huge number of journals (also called serials) electronically.

If you have a specific journal in mind search by the title using the ejournals A-Z index or alternatively you can search by title or subject at Browzine:

If an electronic version is not available, we may have it in print. This is sometimes the case for older journal articles (pre-1999). Print copies of journals are held in our libraries and can be located using Library Search. If in doubt, please contact me as your Subject Librarian.

If you do not have a specific journal in mind then the most effective way to search for journal articles and beyond is to use the large number of databases that the Library subscribes to.

If you are on campus you can access most databases and ejournals directly.

For off-campus access use the links to resources from Library pages to ensure you gain access to all our subscribed content.

Earth Sciences Databases

Popular databases for finding information in Earth Science and related disciplines:

British Geological Survey publications
BGS publication viewer provides access to a range of free to view publications produced by the survey, from 1835 to present.

GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Selected eBook and eJournal content from GeoScienceWorld, a leading publisher for Earth Sciences scholarly publications. Please note: we do not have access to all publications. To limit to our subscribed content, use advanced search and select "Content I have access to".

Selected eBook and eJournal content from GeoScienceWorld, a leading publisher for Earth Sciences scholarly publications. Please note: we do not have access to all publications.
Lyell collection This link opens in a new window
The Lyell Collection represents one of the largest integrated collections of online Earth Science literature available. Bringing together key journals, Special Publications and Society book series on a single site.
The Lyell Collection represents one of the largest integrated collections of online Earth Science literature available. Bringing together key journals, Special Publications and Society book series on a single site.

Geochemical databases

For more Chemical databases and resources, see the Chemistry Subject Support library guide.

Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Database for the retrieval of chemical information and data from published literature.
Database for the retrieval of chemical information and data from published literature.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Please note: before you use SciFinder for the first time you must register with your UoB email address, to obtain a personal username and password.
Online equivalent of Chemical Abstracts, covering all aspects of chemistry, Chemical physics, and biochemistry from 1907 to date, together with over 68 million chemical substances, and containing abstracts, journal articles, patents, conference papers, reports, dissertations and books.

Multi-disciplinary Databases

Popular databases covering a wide range of subject areas:

BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database for the traditional areas of biology that combines content from the BIOSIS Previews database with fully indexed cited references from BIOSIS (from 2006) and content from all the Web of Science databases (prior to and post 2006).
Comprehensive database for the traditional areas of biology that combines content from the BIOSIS Previews database with fully indexed cited references from BIOSIS (from 2006) and content from all the Web of Science databases (prior to and post 2006).
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic information from the world's literature on all aspects of physics, electronics, control engineering and information technology.
Bibliographic information from the world's literature on all aspects of physics, electronics, control engineering and information technology.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus includes references to journal articles, conference proceedings and books relating to science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
Scopus includes references to journal articles, conference proceedings and books relating to science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
SciELO Citation Index on Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Science, social science, and arts and humanities research in published in open access journals from Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa.
Science, social science, and arts and humanities research in published in open access journals from Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works published by Springer
Access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works published by Springer
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Includes: Science Citation Index; Social sciences Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities.
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Includes: Science Citation Index; Social sciences Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities.

Research Methods

Useful resources to support the design of research methods and methodologies:

Open Access Research Methods Resource Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of open access research methods resources.
A collection of open access research methods resources.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Vast database of full-text handbooks, videos and case studies of qualitative and quantitative research methods. Also includes a research project planner, with step by step help on each stage of the research process, for all types of dissertation or research project.

Dissertations & Theses

For University of Bristol theses and dissertations, search by author or title in Library Search. When your search results display, you can refine your search by using the 'Resource type - Thesis' option.
Recently submitted theses will be electronic format only and will be listed on Explore Bristol Research, though information is regularly added to Library Search.

Find dissertations and theses from other institutions using the links below:

DART-Europe E-theses portal This link opens in a new window
A partnership of research libraries and library consortia working together to improve global access to European research theses
A partnership of research libraries and library consortia working together to improve global access to European research theses
Dissertation Express This link opens in a new window
A searchable index providing brief citation details to Dissertation Abstracts International. You can choose to personally purchase the full text of dissertations/theses you require or you can request them via our Inter-Library Loans Service.
A searchable index providing brief citation details to Dissertation Abstracts International. You can choose to personally purchase the full text of dissertations/theses you require or you can request them via our Inter-Library Loans Service.
EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service) This link opens in a new window
UK’s national thesis service providing records of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions and free access to the full text of as many theses as possible. Please note: UK theses not available on EThOS can be requested via the Inter-Library Loan service.
UK’s national thesis service providing records of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions and free access to the full text of as many theses as possible. Please note: UK theses not available on EThOS can be requested via the Inter-Library Loan service.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) This link opens in a new window
A catalogue containing the electronic versions of theses and dissertations submitted to a number of universities in Africa, Australia, Europe, and North America. The catalogue is fully searchable by author, title and subject
A catalogue containing the electronic versions of theses and dissertations submitted to a number of universities in Africa, Australia, Europe, and North America. The catalogue is fully searchable by author, title and subject
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Includes citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day. Full-text is available for most dissertations added since 1997. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, it also includes UK & Ireland content.
Includes citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day. Full-text is available for most dissertations added since 1997. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, it also includes UK & Ireland content.

Maps and mapping

British Library Maps
less...
The British Library has one of the largest collections of maps, plans and topographical views in the world, numbering some 4.5 million, with a chronological spread of over 2,000 years.

Digimap This link opens in a new window
Visit the Digimap Help Centre, or visit the Digimap YouTube channel for video tutorials.
Please note: you need to register to access Digimap modules the first time. You need to go to 'Log In' in the top right hand corner to log in.

Digimap comprises maps and map data, including the following: Digimap - Ordnance Survey Collection, Environment Digimap, Historic Digimap, Geology Digimap, Marine Digimap and Aerial and Lidar Digimap. Create or interrogate a map online by selecting an appropriate base map, adding annotations and customising the content, use measurement and query tools to learn more about any study area. Download the raw spatial data in a wide range of formats.

National Library of Scotland Maps
less...
A free resource from the National Library of Scotland providing digitised map images, LiDAR, Ordnance Survey and historical maps.
Decolonial Atlas
less...
The Decolonial Atlas is a growing collection of maps which, in some way, help us to challenge our relationships with the land, people, and state. It’s based on the premise that cartography is not as objective as we’re made to believe.

Data sources

British Geological Survey Data Centres

DataCite Commons This link opens in a new window
Aggregates dataset records from multiple sources and allows searching of general repositories via a single interface.
Aggregates dataset records from multiple sources and allows searching of general repositories via a single interface.

EarthChem Community-driven preservation, discovery, access, and visualization of geochemical, geochronological, and petrological data

re3data This link opens in a new window
A registry of research data repositories. Browse by data type, country, subject
A registry of research data repositories. Browse by data type, country, subject
Statista This link opens in a new window
A business data statistics portal containing more than 1 million statistics from over 22,500 sources (including both national and international data); over 80,000 topics in 177 multidisciplinary categories, ranging from agriculture to media and marketing; market data, consumer behaviour, demographics and opinion polls; 4,500 Statista Dossiers and Industry Reports; 41,000 studies & reports from third parties.
A business data statistics portal containing more than 1 million statistics from over 22,500 sources (including both national and international data); over 80,000 topics in 177 multidisciplinary categories, ranging from agriculture to media and marketing; market data, consumer behaviour, demographics and opinion polls; 4,500 Statista Dossiers and Industry Reports; 41,000 studies & reports from third parties.
UK Data Service This link opens in a new window
The UK’s largest collection of social, economic and population data sources.Includes major UK government-sponsored surveys, cross-national surveys, longitudinal studies, UK census data, international aggregate, business data, and qualitative data. Intergovernmental organisations include International Monetary Fund (IMF), Office for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and the World Bank. Research institutes include NatCen, Institute for Social and Economics Research (ISER) and the Centre for Longitudinal Studies (CLS) among many others.
The UK’s largest collection of social, economic and population data sources.Includes major UK government-sponsored surveys, cross-national surveys, longitudinal studies, UK census data, international aggregate, business data, and qualitative data. Intergovernmental organisations include International Monetary Fund (IMF), Office for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and the World Bank. Research institutes include NatCen, Institute for Social and Economics Research (ISER) and the Centre for Longitudinal Studies (CLS) among many others.

Film, TV and audiovisual

Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
Enables staff and students to record and watch freeview broadcasts, create clips from new and archived TV and radio broadcasts, and embed them into Blackboard/ presentations. Please note: it can only be accessed in the UK. It is each user’s responsibility to ensure that the materials made available are used strictly within the terms and conditions of the licence.
Enables staff and students to record and watch freeview broadcasts, create clips from new and archived TV and radio broadcasts, and embed them into Blackboard/ presentations. Please note: it can only be accessed in the UK. It is each user’s responsibility to ensure that the materials made available are used strictly within the terms and conditions of the licence.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.
Movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.
BFI Player This link opens in a new window
You need to register with your UoB email address via the student URL: https://player.bfi.org.uk/students. Once you have submitted the form, select ‘University of Bristol’ from the Institution dropdown list and login with your UoB credentials when prompted. You can then simply login until with your individual email/password combination via the main BFI link above until 30/09/2024. You'll need to resubscribe each year by following the student link and selecting 'Already have an account? Sign in'. We recommend ticking the student newsletter box.

Please note:
• BFI Player is unavailable outside the UK
• Rentals and festival events are not included in the subscription offer
You need to register with your UoB email address via the student URL: https://player.bfi.org.uk/students. Once you have submitted the form, select ‘University of Bristol’ from the Institution dropdown list and login with your UoB credentials when prompted. You can then simply login until with your individual email/password combination via the main BFI link above until 30/09/2024. You'll need to resubscribe each year by following the student link and selecting 'Already have an account? Sign in'. We recommend ticking the student newsletter box.

Please note:
• BFI Player is unavailable outside the UK
• Rentals and festival events are not included in the subscription offer

Database research tutorial

A self-help tutorial on effective research with databases.

Accessing resources off-site

Help and advice on accessing the Library's resources both on and off-site.

Decolonising and the library

Decolonising and the library
Information on inclusive citation, decolonial resources and workshops for students and staff.

Earth Sciences

Search e-journals