LibGuides: Chemistry: Journals and Databases

Library

Journals and Databases

The University of Bristol Library subscribes to a huge number of journals (also called serials) electronically.

If you have a specific journal in mind search by the title using the ejournals A-Z index or alternatively you can search by title or subject at Browzine:

If an electronic version is not available, we may have it in print. This is sometimes the case for older journal articles (pre-1999). Print copies of journals are held in our libraries and can be located using Library Search. If in doubt, please contact me as your Subject Librarian.

If you do not have a specific journal in mind then the most effective way to search for journal articles and beyond is to use the large number of databases that the Library subscribes to.

If you are on campus you can access most databases and ejournals directly.

For off-campus access use the links to resources from Library pages to ensure you gain access to all our subscribed content.

Chemistry Databases

The most popular databases for Chemistry and the physical sciences:

Chemistry Trove This link opens in a new window
Please note: we do not have access to all titles listed on the site. We have access to titles from the Chemistry Trove package only. The red padlocks indicate titles not included in this package.
Please note: we do not have access to all titles listed on the site. We have access to titles from the Chemistry Trove package only. The red padlocks indicate titles not included in this package.
ChemRxiv This link opens in a new window
ChemRxiv is a free submission, distribution, and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas. ChemRxiv gives researchers across a broad range of fields related to the chemical sciences the opportunity to share early results with colleagues and receive recommendations for improvement, ahead of formal peer review and publication. ChemRxiv is co-owned and collaboratively managed by the American Chemical Society (ACS), Chinese Chemical Society (CCS), Chemical Society of Japan (CSJ), German Chemical Society (GDCh), and the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC).

Content note: These are preliminary reports which have not been peer-reviewed. They should not be regarded as conclusive, guide clinical practice/health related behaviour, or be reported in news media as established information.
ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources. From Royal Society of Chemistry
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources. From Royal Society of Chemistry
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Online This link opens in a new window
Visit the Help Pages or take a tour of the Handbook
A searchable online version of the popular databook containing a wide range of scientific data. The link "Substance/Property Search" gives access to the powerful search facilities available whilst the "Text Search" is for basic text searching.
Physical Sciences Data-Science Service This link opens in a new window
Visit the Learning Centre for videos and fact sheets.
The Physical Sciences Data-science Service is a National Research Facility which brings together tools and resources for UK researchers in physical sciences, including chemistry, crystallography, materials and related fields. It provides access to web-based data services which are freely accessible for academic users from the UK.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
For tips on using Reaxys effectively, visit the Reaxys Support Hub or view the Reaxys quick reference guide.
Database for the retrieval of chemical information and data from published literature.

CAS Common Chemistry CAS Common Chemistry is an open community resource for accessing chemical information. Nearly 500,000 chemical substances from CAS REGISTRY® cover areas of community interest, including common and frequently regulated chemicals, and those relevant to high school and undergraduate chemistry classes. This chemical information, curated by our expert scientists, is provided in alignment with our mission as a division of the American Chemical Society.

SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Please note: before you use SciFinder for the first time you must register with your UoB email address, to obtain a personal username and password.
Online equivalent of Chemical Abstracts, covering all aspects of chemistry, Chemical physics, and biochemistry from 1907 to date, together with over 68 million chemical substances, and containing abstracts, journal articles, patents, conference papers, reports, dissertations and books.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Popular databases covering a wide range of subject areas:

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works published by Springer
Access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works published by Springer
SciELO Citation Index on Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Science, social science, and arts and humanities research in published in open access journals from Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa.
Science, social science, and arts and humanities research in published in open access journals from Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Visit the Scopus tutorials for guidance on effective searching.
Scopus includes references to journal articles, conference proceedings and books relating to science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Visit the Web of Science training materials.
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Includes: Science Citation Index; Social sciences Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
For help using this database, click on the Help button at the bottom of the page.
Gale Academic OneFile provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including videos from BBC Worldwide Learning to thousands of podcasts and transcripts from CNN. It includes more than 11,000 peer-reviewed journals (more than 8,000 in full text).

Research Methods

Useful resources to support the design of research methods and methodologies:

Open Access Research Methods Resource Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of open access research methods resources.
A collection of open access research methods resources.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Visit the Help and Support pages for tips on using the database

Dissertations & Theses

For University of Bristol theses and dissertations, search by author or title in Library Search. When your search results display, you can refine your search by using the 'Resource type - Thesis' option.
Recently submitted theses will be electronic format only and will be listed on Explore Bristol Research, though information is regularly added to Library Search.

Find dissertations and theses from other institutions using the links below:

DART-Europe E-theses portal This link opens in a new window
A partnership of research libraries and library consortia working together to improve global access to European research theses
A partnership of research libraries and library consortia working together to improve global access to European research theses
Dissertation Express This link opens in a new window
A searchable index providing brief citation details to Dissertation Abstracts International. You can choose to personally purchase the full text of dissertations/theses you require or you can request them via our Inter-Library Loans Service.
A searchable index providing brief citation details to Dissertation Abstracts International. You can choose to personally purchase the full text of dissertations/theses you require or you can request them via our Inter-Library Loans Service.
EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service) This link opens in a new window
UK’s national thesis service providing records of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions and free access to the full text of as many theses as possible. Please note: UK theses not available on EThOS can be requested via the Inter-Library Loan service.
UK’s national thesis service providing records of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions and free access to the full text of as many theses as possible. Please note: UK theses not available on EThOS can be requested via the Inter-Library Loan service.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) This link opens in a new window
A catalogue containing the electronic versions of theses and dissertations submitted to a number of universities in Africa, Australia, Europe, and North America. The catalogue is fully searchable by author, title and subject
A catalogue containing the electronic versions of theses and dissertations submitted to a number of universities in Africa, Australia, Europe, and North America. The catalogue is fully searchable by author, title and subject
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Includes citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day. Full-text is available for most dissertations added since 1997. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, it also includes UK & Ireland content.
Includes citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day. Full-text is available for most dissertations added since 1997. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, it also includes UK & Ireland content.

Patents

Further information about searching for and using Patents in your research can be found on the Civil Engineering subject resources guide.

Derwent Innovations Index on Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Patents in Chemical, Engineering, and Electrical & Electronic areas; with links to cited and citing patents, relevant literature, and patent data sources.
Patents in Chemical, Engineering, and Electrical & Electronic areas; with links to cited and citing patents, relevant literature, and patent data sources.
Espacenet (European Patent Office) This link opens in a new window
Contains all the patent documentation available to European Patent Office examiners and the latest patent applications from all the EPO member states.
Contains all the patent documentation available to European Patent Office examiners and the latest patent applications from all the EPO member states.
Google Patents Search This link opens in a new window
Search over 7 million freely available U.S. patents. Patent information includes a summary, details of any claims made, drawings and citations. You can also choose to search for keywords within individual patents.
Search over 7 million freely available U.S. patents. Patent information includes a summary, details of any claims made, drawings and citations. You can also choose to search for keywords within individual patents.
UK Intellectual Property Office: Patents This link opens in a new window
The Patents Publication Enquiry Service covers all GB applications published and granted after 3 January 2007 and all GB corrected documents published after 1 April 2010.
The Patents Publication Enquiry Service covers all GB applications published and granted after 3 January 2007 and all GB corrected documents published after 1 April 2010.
US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) This link opens in a new window
Full text US patents and published applications. Patents from 1790 to 1975 are searchable only by Patent Number and Current US Classification. From 1976 they are searchable by all fields.
Full text US patents and published applications. Patents from 1790 to 1975 are searchable only by Patent Number and Current US Classification. From 1976 they are searchable by all fields.