Key databases
If you want to do a thorough search of the literature on a topic, the best way to do this is to use a database.
A database indexes journals and other sources of information, meaning you may search across all these indexed sources at once. Databases are not always easy to use. You will receive training during your course but you can get in touch with your Subject Librarian at any time if you require assistance.
There are lots of different databases, with different topic coverage. See below for some of the resources that are particularly useful for Anatomy students.
- Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Tool for studying human anatomy through three-dimensional means. Includes images of real, dissected human anatomical specimens, and encompasses the upper limb, lower limb, trunk, head and neck, and internal organs. Please note: users can set up a personal account once logged in - but need to access the account every 60 days to ensure it remains active.
- Medline on OvidSP This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Skills and training
Your Subject Librarian will provide a programme of lectures and training on library and information skills, in consultation with your Department or School.
A number of guides to searching key databases are available on Blackboard. Your Subject Librarian is also able to give help and advice about individual databases and searching in general.
Accessing resources off-site
Help and advice on accessing the Library's resources both on and off-site.
Sage Research Methods
A comprehensive guide to all stages of the research process, from writing research questions to collecting data and writing up your findings.
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Vast database of full-text handbooks, videos and case studies of qualitative and quantitative research methods. Also includes a research project planner, with step by step help on each stage of the research process, for all types of dissertation or research project.