Referencing
Check out the Library's referencing advice which covers why, when and how to reference your sources.
The Library provides some useful tools to help with managing and formatting your references.
The Cite Them Right website is the key resource if you have questions about referencing and covers a range of different referencing styles:
- Cite Them Right This link opens in a new window
Provides guidance on how to cite and reference almost any type of source. Also includes an introduction to referencing for anyone who is unsure or needs a refresher of the principles.
The reference management tool supported at Bristol is Endnote.
Undergraduates and taught postgraduates in the Dental School are advised to use Endnote Online, and will get training from the Subject Librarian in using this. Endnote Desktop is recommended for staff and postgraduate research students.
- EndNote Online This link opens in a new window
An online bibliographic referencing tool. Use it to collect, store and organise your references and create your reference list as you write. For more information and help see the library's EndNote Online help page.
Dental students should check their Dental School course handbook to find out which referencing styles to use for their coursework, or ask their supervisors for advice. There is no one standard style used across the University, as different publications use different styles and we want Bristol students to be able to use different styles as required.
Cite them right - the book
Multiples copies of this book are available in our libraries at Bristol, and it is available as a Library eBook.
Cite Them Right by ISBN: 9781350933446Publication Date: 2022-05-19Covers Harvard, APA, Chicago, IEEE, MHRA, MLA, OSCOLA, and Vancouver referencing styles. This guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism covers everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. It gives detailed examples of how to reference print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more.
EndNote
EndNote
Use EndNote reference management software to collect, store and import references into your work.