Searching the secondary literature
The Cochrane Library incudes two key databases: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, and Cochrane Central, which includes Randomised Control Trials:
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare which includes the following databases: Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Please note: to access off campus, select 'Sign in', 'Institutional login' and then choose 'University of Bristol'.
TRIP is a search engine that aims to search across a range of "Evidence based" repositories and websites, so it includes images and videos as well as publications.
- Turning Research into Practice (TRiP) This link opens in a new window
Searches simultaneously across over 75 evidence-based practice oriented web resources and presents the results in categories.
Recommended Library booK
Evidence-based dentistry : managing information for better practice by In the Medical Library and a Library eBook.
Recommended Library book:
Cochrane handbook for systematic reviews of interventions by ISBN: 9781119536628The "gold standard guide" for doing a systematic review. In the Medical Library and a Library eBook.
How to read a paper
How to read a paper : the basics of evidence-based medicine and healthcare by Call Number: AA6 GREISBN: 9781119484745Publication Date: 2019A recommended book. See Chapter 2: Searching the literature.
Recommended website
- The Dental Elf (National Elf Service)Evidence-summaries for dental clinicians produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Dentistry.