Skip to main content

Anthropology and Archaeology

"Ai Wei Wei: According to what? at Hirshorn" by Steve Rhodes is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

 

Books and eBooks

Learn where to discover anthropology and archaeology books that are suitable for your assignments.

 

  • You can find books on Library Search by using bibliographic details, for example Eriksen and What is anthropology.
  • You can discover books on Library Search by using keywords relevant to your topic,  such as Neolithic Britain.               

Select the 'Books' filter on the left-hand side of the page. You can use the 'eBook' filter if you'd like to limit your search to online books.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias are great for background information for a new topic. They are updated regularly by experts and contain bibliographies for more in-depth information.

 

eBook collections

As part of the research for your assignments you may wish to search across eBook collections for relevant materials on your topic.  They include handbooks and 'companions' that give extended treatment of specific topics, concepts and methods in your disciplines.

These databases cover both anthropology and archaeology. In your search, you can specify the area that you are interested in. For example you can look up either 'archaeology of childhood' or the 'anthropology of childhood' or both.

 

Free online eBook collections

eBook collections

Cambridge Companions Online

Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.

Oxford Scholarship Online

Access to a library of over 17,000 outstanding  academic books from Oxford University Press.

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Oxford Bibliographies is a library of discipline-focused, online guides  to the essential literature across a broad range of subject areas. 

University Press Scholarship Online

A vast and rapidly-expanding online research library, University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO) offers full-text access to the best scholarly monograph publishing from around the world, making disparately published scholarship easily accessible. It is an unparalleled research tool, delivering over 31,000 of the best scholarly works from leading university presses.

Oxford Handbooks Online

Oxford Handbooks are one of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxford's scientific and scholarly publishing. They contain in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. Review essays evaluate the current thinking on a particular field or topic and make original argument about the future direction of the debate. The series contains rich archaeological materials.

Oxford Very Short Introductions

Launched by Oxford University Press in 1995, Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory.

 

Featured Encyclopedias

The International Encyclopedia of Anthropology

The International Encyclopedia of Anthropology is the most complete reference resource for the field of anthropology and interrelated areas, providing an authoritative and expert overview of the concepts, research, and techniques that together define the discipline. Over 1,000 entries present the reader with in-depth discussions of hundreds of key topics, including: ecology, human evolution, gender, health, language and education, kinship, politics, and power, as well as biographical entries of many of the world's most influential founding anthropologists. 

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology

Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.

Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology

This comprehensive, fully illustrated Companion answers the need for an in-depth archaeology reference that provides authoritative coverage of this complex and interdisciplinary field. The work brings together the myriad strands and the great temporal and spatial breadth of the field into two thematically organized volumes. In twenty-six authoritative and clearly-written essays, this Companion explores the origins, aims, methods and problems of archaeology. Each essay is written by a scholar of international standing and illustrations complement the text.

Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology

The Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology is a ground-breaking compendium of information about this ever-growing field. Concentrating on the post-1400 period as well as containing generic explanations of historical archaeology where needed, the encyclopedia is compiled by over 120 experts from around the world and contains more than 370 entries covering important concepts and sites.

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Darwin and Evolutionary Thought

This volume is a comprehensive reference work on the life, labors and influence of the great evolutionist Charles Darwin. With more than sixty essays written by an international group representing the leading scholars in the field, this is the definitive work on Darwin. It covers the background to Darwin's discovery of the theory of evolution through natural selection, the work he produced and his contemporaries' reactions to it, and evaluates his influence on science in the 150 years since the publication of On the Origin of Species. It also explores the implications of Darwin's discoveries in religion, politics, gender, literature, culture, philosophy and medicine, critically evaluating Darwin's legacy. 

The Routledge Handbook of Medical Anthropology

The Routledge Handbook of Medical Anthropology provides a contemporary overview of the key themes in medical anthropology. The entries invite the reader to reflect on the ethnographic richness and theoretical contributions of research on the clinic and the field, bioscience and medical research, infectious and non-communicable diseases, biomedicine, complementary and alternative modalities, structural violence and vulnerability, gender and ageing, reproduction and sexuality. As a way of illustrating the themes, a rich variety of case studies are included, presented by over 60 authors from around the world, reflecting the diverse cultural contexts in which people experience health, illness, and healing. Each chapter and its case studies are introduced by a photograph, reflecting medical and visual anthropological responses to inequality and vulnerability. 

Library Search tutorial

Successful searching with Library Search

A self-help tutorial on using Library Search effectively to find books, articles and other resources.