Skip to main content

Anthropology and Archaeology

Late Geometric Ib bowl, Attica, Greece  (probable prev. owner: 7th Earl of Elgin, is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0, The British Museum, UK.

Articles and databases

Learn where to find journal articles on the library webpage, and how to discover these on databases.

Find articles on Library Search

  • Use Library Search to read journal articles online if you know their title and-or author names.
  • Use Find an eJournal, the library's A to Z of digital journals, to see which journals we hold online.

Key databases 

These databases cover social anthropology, biological anthropology, linguistic anthropology and archaeology. They include ethnography, fieldwork, cultural heritage, conservation, museum and material culture studies. 

 

Databases for related disciplines

For topics with a multidisciplinary reach,  you may need to search databases from related disciplines: medicine, economics, policy studies, psychology, sociology. For example, you can use PubMed for medical anthropology.

If you need help on which databases to use for your research, please do get in touch!

 

Other useful databases

 

Free online eJournal databases

 

Why use articles?

Articles are published regularly in journals, also known as periodicals. These contain up-to-date and in-depth content for your assignm­­ents. They are peer-reviewed by anthropologists and archaeologists to ensure that they are of high quality.  Anthropology and archaeology are dynamic disciplines. By reading journal articles, you keep up to date with quick-paced research before it becomes incorporated in books. 

Some journals focus on just one area of the discipline, such as The Journal of Human Evolution or The Journal of Archaeological Science, whereas others cover a variety of topics, for example  Current Anthropology or Antiquity.

Why use databases?

Use databases if you want to do a quick and thorough search for a topic across many journalsYou won’t find these resources on free search engines like Google. Databases have more powerful and advanced search engines than Google or Library Search. You will need to search across multiple databases to find a broader range of literature.

 

Tips on using databases

Some databases include full-text versions of articles and others only have bibliographic details. When the full text is not available, try the Get It @Bristol Univ button to see if there is a link to the full text in the library.

Subject-specific database like Anthropology Plus and AnthroSource cover the most current and comprehensive bibliographies of research in anthropology and archaeology journals.

Interdisciplinary databases, like Web of Science are excellent for finding materials when anthropology and archaeology intersect with other disciplines and areas in science, social sciences, arts and the humanities. 

Database research tutorial

Effective research with databases

A self-help tutorial on effective research with databases.

Web of Science: search tips