Library Search
Library Search is the Library's main catalogue. It provides information about the books, articles and other resources available to you at the Library in physical and online formats.
You will usually have a resource list provided by your unit tutor: please consult this carefully as it contains details of core and recommended readings.
Find books
The Library gives you access to extensive printed collections and a wide range of e-books. Find print and e-books via Library Search. Use the filters on the left side of results pages on Library Search to display results relating to books only.
Find journal articles
The Library subscribes to a huge number of journals electronically.
- Use Library Search to discover whether an article is available electronically. Use author and title details in Library Search of the article you wish to read.
- If you wish to browse through the contents of an electronic journal, use the ejournals A-Z index. Alternatively you can search by title or subject at Browzine:
You can also search for a journal article using the DOI (Digital Object Identifier)
Printed journals.
A small number of journals are available in printed format only. Use Library Search and the title of the journal you are interested in to discover whether the Library holds it in printed format.
Library Search tutorial
A self-help tutorial on using Library Search effectively to find books, articles and other resources.
New book spotlight
The Routledge Handbook of Translation and Activism
The Routledge Handbook of Translation and Activismprovides an accessible, diverse and ground-breaking overview of literary, cultural, and political translation across a range of activist contexts. As the first extended collection to offer perspectives on translation and activism from a global perspective, this handbook includes case studies and histories of oppressed and marginalised people from over twenty different languages.
Translation and Multimodality
Translation and Multimodality: Beyond Words is one of the first books to explore how translation needs to be redefined and reconfigured in contexts where multiple modes of communication, such as writing, images, gesture, and music, occur simultaneously. Bringing together world-leading experts in translation theory and multimodality, each chapter explores important interconnections among these related, yet distinct, disciplines.
Subtitling
Subtitling: Concepts and Practices provides students, researchers and practitioners with a research-based introduction to the theory and practice of subtitling. The book, inspired by the highly successful Audiovisual Translation: Subtitling by the same authors, is a new publication reflecting the developments in practice and research that mark subtitling today, while considering the way ahead. It supplies the core concepts that will allow its users to acquaint themselves with the technical, linguistic and cultural features of this specific yet extremely diverse form of audiovisual translation and the many contexts in which it is deployed today.
Routledge Handbook of Arabic Translation
Translation-related activities from and into Arabic have significantly increased in the last few years, in both scope and scale. The launch of a number of national translation projects, policies and awards in a number of Arab countries, together with the increasing translation from Arabic in a wide range of subject areas outside the Arab World - especially in the aftermath of the Arab Spring - have complicated and diversified the dynamics of the translation industry involving Arabic.
A Century of Chinese Literature in Translation (1919-2019)
This book delves into the Chinese literary translation landscape over the last century, spanning critical historical periods such as the Cultural Revolution in the greater China region. Contributors from all around the world approach this theme from various angles, providing an overview of translation phenomena at critical historical moments, identifying the trends of translation and publication, uncovering translation norms of important works, elucidating the relationship between translators and other agents, articulating the interaction between texts and readers, and in short, disclosing the nature of literary migration from Chinese into English. This volume aims at benefiting both academics of translation studies from a dominantly Anglophone culture and researchers in the greater China region. Chinese scholars of translation studies will not only find in this volume a dedicated reference book, they will also find the contrast, confluence and communication/conference between the research by local academics and their global colleagues potentially stimulating, inspiring, and ultimately transformative.
