LibGuides: Translation and Interpreting Studies: Expand your searches using subject indexes and bibliographies

Library

Bibliographical databases

Bibliographical databases, sometimes known as subject indexes, provide records of scholarly books, articles, conference papers and doctoral theses. They enable you to do deeper, richer research, and are particularly useful for longer essays and dissertations/theses.

Use of Library Search to find key books on your subject is recommended before you turn to bibliographies/indexes to do more in-depth research.

Core bibliographies and indexes

BITRA: Bibliography of Interpreting and Translation This link opens in a new window
A very useful bibliography maintained by the Department of Translation and Interpreting, University of Alicante.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Guides to the most important scholarship on a wide range of subjects, chiefly in Arts and Social Sciences, written and reviewed by leading academic experts.
Translation Studies Bibliography (TSB) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly bibliography of the theory and practice of translation, published by John Benjamins.

Other useful indexes/bibliographies

EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service) This link opens in a new window
UK’s national thesis service providing records of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions and free access to the full text of as many theses as possible. Please note: UK theses not available on EThOS can be requested via the Inter-Library Loan service.
FIAF (International Index to Film Periodicals) This link opens in a new window
A scholarly index of film theory, history and criticism: particularly useful for finding scholarly writings on films, directors, cinema history. Further information about FIAF, and useful search tips can be found here: http://proquest.libguides.com/fiaf.

Index Translationum
A bibliography of translated works in around 100 countries since 1979.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Includes journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951, and covers politics, sociology, economics and anthropology. It is strong on international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering many subjects.

OpenEdition
Open access online books and journals, chiefly in the humanities and social sciences.

Overton This link opens in a new window
Full text policy documents from around the world. Useful for researching governments' approaches to areas such as language policy.

NB: This database can be browsed on campus without signing into the Overton site. Off campus, users need to register on the Overton registration page with their @bristol.ac.uk email address.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
A digital library of journals and books. Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Includes citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day. Full-text is available for most dissertations added since 1997. See also EThOS above for comprehensive UK coverage.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles, conference proceedings and books relating to science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles, conference proceedings and books relating to science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.

List of all databases relating to Translation .

How to use bibliographical databases in your research

This interactive tutorial guides you through the process of using databases optimally to find information on your topic. It should take about 15-20 minutes to complete.

Image: an illumination from the Cobden Book of Hours, University of Bristol Special Collections

Using the Translation Studies Bibliography database

Translation Studies Bibliography brief guide
Guidance on using the Translation Studies Bibliography to find scholarly writings on translation theory and practice. Microsoft Word document.

Guidance on using the MLA International Bibliography

Brief guide to the MLA International Bibliography