Dissertations and theses
To find a University of Bristol thesis:
- Use Library Search as if you were trying to find a book, using either the author's name, the title, or a combination of the two. When your search results display, you can refine your search by using the 'Resource type - Thesis' option on the left-hand menu.
- Recently submitted theses will be electronic format only and will be listed first on Explore Bristol Research, this information is then regularly uploaded to Library Search.
To find theses worldwide:
- DART-Europe E-theses portal This link opens in a new window
A partnership of research libraries and library consortia working together to improve global access to European research theses
- EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service) This link opens in a new window
UK’s national thesis service providing records of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions and free access to the full text of as many theses as possible. Please note: UK theses not available on EThOS can be requested via the Inter-Library Loan service.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) This link opens in a new window
A catalogue containing the electronic versions of theses and dissertations submitted to a number of universities in Africa, Australia, Europe, and North America. The catalogue is fully searchable by author, title and subject
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
OATD.org is a resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Information about theses comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes around 6,500,000 items.
- OpenGrey (System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe) This link opens in a new window
Provides open access to bibliographic references of reports and other grey literature (GL) produced in Europe until 2005. Examples of GL include technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, some conference papers, and some official publications.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Includes citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day. Full-text is available for most dissertations added since 1997. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, it also includes UK & Ireland content.
- UK Research Councils This link opens in a new window
The Gateway to Research portal holds information on projects funded by the different UK research councils and Innovate UK, including grants awarded, project descriptions, and partners working on the project. It includes details of active projects and the outcomes for projects that have finished. To find funded theses, use the filters to select “studentships” and the relevant funding council. The short record only shows the title and institution to which the funding was awarded, but the full record includes further details.
Library Search
Search books, journal articles and more provided by the University of Bristol Library
Explore Bristol Research
Explore Bristol Research contains research output produced by members of the University of Bristol.