Skip to Main Content

Mathematics

Laptop

Journal Articles and Databases

The Library provides access to a huge number of journals, magazines and conference proceedings. For web searching, incl. Google Scholar, we recommend installing a browser plugin like LibKey Nomad. This will make accessing full-text much easier. If you want to go above and beyond 'just Googling it', there are two highly-effective ways of accessing this type of literature:

 

Browse, read and monitor current ejournal content using Browzine:

Search e-journals

 

 

Efficiently search reliable and scholarly literature on a topic using the databases that the Library subscribes to. The most useful for Mathematics and Statistics are:

Google Scholar provides a broad search of scholarly literature. It covers multiple disciplines and sources.

Using Google Scholar off campus

To get full-text links in your Google Scholar results, you must first tell Google Scholar that you have access to the University of Bristol library subscriptions by

  • Selecting Settings from the top of the home page
  • Selecting Library Links
  • Searching for the University of Bristol and selecting it from the list
  • Saving your settings

You will now see 'Get It @ Bristol Univ' links next to items in your Google Scholar results that you can use to access the full-text provided by library subscriptions.

 

Print Journals

If an electronic version is not available, we may have it in print. This is sometimes the case for older journal articles (pre-1999). Print copies of journals and conference proceedings are held in our libraries and can be located using Library Search. If in doubt, please contact your Subject Librarian.

Browse mathematics journals

What is a database?

If you want to do a thorough search of the literature on a topic, the best way to do this is to use a database. A database indexes journals and other sources of information, meaning you may search across all these indexed sources at once.

Databases are not always easy to use. To make sure you use databases to their full potential, book onto one of our training sessions, or get in touch to arrange a chat.

Guide to searching MathSciNet

Keeping up to date

Many bibliographic databases allow you to set search alerts which will automatically inform you of new publications issued on topics that are of interest to you.

To set up a search alert you will normally have to take 4 steps:

  1. Set up a personal account on the database you wish to use, this will allow you save searches and alerts.
  2. Create your search and run it to check the results.
  3. Save the search as an alert.
  4. Set up the details of the alert by indicating how you would like to receive the alert (via E-mail or RSS feed) and with what frequency.

Citation Alerts

Citation alerts can be set to automatically notify you when a particular research article or conference paper is cited by a new publication appearing in a bibliographic database.

Current Awareness Services (CAS)

You may wish to use one of the following platforms to help you discover the latest papers on a topic or from a particular journal as soon as they are published online:

Want to know who is citing you?

Some databases also allow you to set up citation alerts to an author rather than a single publication. You can use citation alerting to help you keep track of who is citing your own work. Citation alerts can be set up on scientific literature databases such as SCOPUS and Web of Science.

Subjects: Mathematics