Mathematics

Downloadable ‘apps’ for your internet browsers.

• LibKey Nomad - provides a link via a 'View PDF' icon in your browser to the best available full-text PDF of an article and searches for OA versions on open databases.
• CORE Discovery - finds OA copies of articles, using a dataset of millions of full text OA papers, as well as the data of other providers.
• Open Access Button – automatically detects paywalled articles and presents an open access alternative
• Unpaywall – searches a database of millions of free scholarly articles each time you encounter a paywall.

Google Scholar provides a broad search of scholarly literature. It covers multiple disciplines and sources.

Using Google Scholar off campus

To get full-text links in your Google Scholar results, you must first tell Google Scholar that you have access to the University of Bristol library subscriptions by

• Selecting Settings from the top of the home page
• Selecting Library Links
• Searching for the University of Bristol and selecting it from the list
• Saving your settings

You will now see 'Get It @ Bristol Univ' links next to items in your Google Scholar results that you can use to access the full-text provided by library subscriptions.

As part of our commitment to Open Access publishing, we pay for a number of Read and Publish deals with major publishers. The SciFree Journal Checker tool allows authors to search for their chosen journal and see at a glance whether or not it is included in one of these agreements. If it is, authors can publish their research as Gold Open Access at no additional cost.

Explore Bristol Research contains research output produced by members of the University of Bristol.