LibGuides: Management: Company, industry and marketing information

Library

Company, industry and marketing information

Bloomberg Room (on-campus only)
A global financial database covering publicly traded companies, use Bloomberg to find nearly any type of financial data, including equities, fixed income, indices, commodities, currencies, and more. Bloomberg has data on more than 5 million bonds, equities, commodities, currencies & funds.
ACCESS NOTE: Accessible in Priory Road Complex in 4F6 ONLY. Contact finance-lab@bristol.ac.uk for technical support.

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Contains the following company information:
over 2,400 market research reports
over 174,000 independently researched company profiles from MarketLine
over 21,700 MarketLine industry profiles
over 5,600 SWOT analyses
over 1,100 country economic reports
ECommerce Insights (Statista) This link opens in a new window
**Note: when accessing this database you will need to select 'University Access' at the top right of the page.** Detailed information for 39,000+ online stores and marketplaces. 70+ KPIs per store and revenue analytics and forecasts.

Eikon (on campus only)
Access to 13f institutional holdings data, Thomson One, Investext, Datastream and WorldScope. Available on selected PCs on campus at 15-19 Tyndall's Park Road (Business School students only) and Priory Road, 1D5 and 2D5 (Economics students only). See guide for access instructions. Please contact your School Office for further help with access.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Database from Dow Jones which includes industry data drawn from international news sources.
Company snapshot section includes latest news, key developments such M&A/ownership changes and new products, peer comparison, financial reports for public companies.
Industry snapshot section includes approximately 30 industries globally and provides targeted news, reports, charts, analysis and financial data
Fame This link opens in a new window
Detailed company ownership and financial information for the previous 20 years for all incorporated companies in the UK and Ireland.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
In-depth analysis of financial news, markets and companies worldwide. First time users will need to fill in the registration form using the University of Bristol email address.
Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Access more than 430,000 detailed company profiles with company financial data, in-depth country overviews, and comprehensive industry profiles. Includes SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies, academic journals, trade magazines and news outlets.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
The latest IT research and technology news, case studies and trends to support research and business. Access to research Special Reports - providing insights into major business and technology trends. Gartner® Magic Quadrant, Vendor Ratings and Hype Cycles, to inform plans and support business decisions. Subscription provided by IT Services.
Market Research & American Business, 1935-1965 This link opens in a new window
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 provides an insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst, market research pioneer and widely-recognised ‘father’ of Motivational Research.
Mintel Academic and Market Sizes This link opens in a new window
In-depth, high quality market reports and data on goods worldwide. There are several reports published each year within all of the subsections of these broad headings:
UK: Automotive, Beauty & Personal Care, Drink, Retail, Technology, Travel;
Europe: European Briefing;
China: Attitudes and Trends, Beauty and Personal Care, Food and Drink, Retail.

Morningstar
***Limited to one user at a time - see guide for instructions on how to access. Business School PGT and PGR students only.*** Up-to-date information on over 10,000 stocks, 24,000 mutual funds, and over 850 Exchange Traded Funds. Also includes Morningstar analysts' independent opinions on 1,800 stocks and 2,000 funds. In addition, it provides stock and mutual funds screening functions, portfolio analysis tools, and college and retirement calculators.

Open access company and finance sources
A list of freely available sources for company and finance information.

S&P Capital IQ Pro This link opens in a new window
A global financial database (formerly S&P Global Market Intelligence) providing corporate, financial, and market data plus news and analytics for banks and insurance companies. Use the link to create an account using your University of Bristol email address. For further help using this source contact your School Admin Office.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A business data statistics portal containing more than 1 million statistics from over 22,500 sources (including both national and international data); over 80,000 topics in 177 multidisciplinary categories, ranging from agriculture to media and marketing; market data, consumer behaviour, demographics and opinion polls; 4,500 Statista Dossiers and Industry Reports; 41,000 studies & reports from third parties.
Trade Finance Channel This link opens in a new window
The Trade Finance channel for the International Chamber of Commerce. Includes News, ICC policy statements, ICC opinions, ICC rules, legal case summaries among others.
WARC This link opens in a new window
Cases studies of marketing excellence from all over the world, covering every marketing discipline.
Selected Euromonitor company profiles in the following industries:
Alcoholic drinks, Clothing and accessories, Financial services, Food, Leisure and entertainment, Healthcare, Retail, Soft drinks, Technology and electronics, Tobacco, Toiletries and cosmetics, Transport and tourism.
Vast amount of data on global ad trends, advertising expenditure and media consumption.

WRDS This link opens in a new window
Includes Bank Regulatory, Boardex, Compustat Capital IQ, CRSP, Dow Jones, MSCI KLD Stats, Thomson Reuters and others. Request an account on the WRDS website. For help using these sources contact your School Admin Office.

Further help

Guide to using Factiva
Comprehensive guide on how to get the best from Factiva. Also includes the latest title list and publication coverage.
WARC and Mintel Video Guides
D.A.R.T videos by WRDS
Short introductory videos on how to access data on some of the principle databases on WRDS, including CRSP, Compustat, I/B/E/S and others.
Eikon (Refinitiv) training
Suite of videos on how to use Eikon. Register with university email address for access.