Learn more about standards by reading this useful introductory blog post from British Standards Online.
Collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information.
Online access to the full text of all current British Standards.
BSOL documents can only be downloaded and viewed in Adobe software when you also have File Open plug-in installed. For University devices, you will need to download the FileOpen client from the Software Centre. For personal devices you will need to install the FileOpen plugin directly from the FileOpen website: https://plugin.fileopen.com/all.aspx
Alternatively, you can use the Quick View option in BSOL to view them in your browser.
The CIS platform provides access to key construction standards and technical information for building projects in the UK and Republic of Ireland. The Governmental and Professional Bodies standards support the construction lifecycle from concept and preparation, through design and construction, to operational and ongoing use.
Technical literature from IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology). Contains journals, conference papers, technical standards, ebooks and more.
SAE MOBILUS includes over 200,000 resources covering a wide range of technologies surrounding the aerospace, automotive, and commercial vehicle industries.
Technical reports are the primary means of technical communication for many organisations. A report may contain: experimental procedures, production data, specifications, standards, operating plans, drawings and/or raw results.
A large amount of information contained in reports will never be formally published as a journal article or within a book so they can be difficult to find. Some useful sources for technical reports are:
Collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information.
This site is a source for free downloads of government and military standards, specifications, handbooks, and documents. It.allows you to search and download a large number of current, historical, and free government and non-government specifications, standards, and documents, including Military Specifications (PRF, DTL, MIL, JAN, DoD), Military Standards and Drawings (MS, AN, AND) and Military Handbooks,Federal Specifications and Standards.
NASA's current and historical aerospace research and engineering results, including aerospace-related citations, full-text access online, images and videos
NATO's Science & Technology Organization (formerly AGARD); fulltext of Agardographs, Meeting Proceedings, Reports, Education Notes, Advisory Reports, Technical Reports, Conference Proceedings, Technical Memoranda, Lecture Series, and Misc Pubs.
The NACATRS is dedicated to the preservation and dissemination of reports produced by the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA). NACA, which evolved into the predecessor to NASA, existed from 1915 until 1958.
Contains over 3 million publications covering business and management studies; health and safety reports; environmental research reports and site clean-up technology; international market reports, training tools and materials.
SAE MOBILUS includes over 200,000 resources covering a wide range of technologies surrounding the aerospace, automotive, and commercial vehicle industries.
