LibGuides: Computer Science: Library Search

Library

Library Search

When working on assignments, it is likely you will need to look beyond your course reading lists for information.

Library Search is the tool used at Bristol to enable you to search across all our Library resources:

The physical books held in our libraries
Our Library eBooks and eJournals
The articles within the eJournals we subscribe to
Open access publications and academic resources

Check out our tutorial on using Library Search effectively to find books, articles and other resources.

Highlight ebook series and collections include:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Full text to most volumes in this prestigious book series
Full text to most volumes in this prestigious book series
Lecture Notes in Mathematics This link opens in a new window
Full text of most volumes in this prestigious book series
Full text of most volumes in this prestigious book series
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly for Higher Education (OHE) is a collection of full-text books and other resources specializing in computer programming and information technology. The database includes more than 35,000 book titles, plus 30,000+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, expert playlists, audio books, and more.
O'Reilly for Higher Education (OHE) is a collection of full-text books and other resources specializing in computer programming and information technology. The database includes more than 35,000 book titles, plus 30,000+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, expert playlists, audio books, and more.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works published by Springer
Access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works published by Springer
Wiley/IEEE Data and Cybersecurity Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
The Wiley Data and Cybersecurity eBooks Library collection covers newly selected titles in topics such as computer security, cryptography, networking/security, data analysis, data mining and knowledge discovery, communication systems security and much more.
The Wiley Data and Cybersecurity eBooks Library collection covers newly selected titles in topics such as computer security, cryptography, networking/security, data analysis, data mining and knowledge discovery, communication systems security and much more.

Search for a reference

If you have a reference to a publication you can use Library Search to find out if the Library gives you access to it.

Search for the main author's surname and some keywords from the title.

A good way to widen your research is to follow up the references listed at the end of relevant books or journal articles.

Search by topic

Library search enables you to search for Library resources by topic:

Search for keywords relevant to your topic.

To find eBooks on your topic: run the search then in the left margin Refine the Search by Format: eBooks.

To find find journal articles by topic: note that while Library Search offers a quick way to find some articles, if you want to be more systematic and go beyond Library collections you should use Library databases.