You can use Library Search to search for general academic resources. It is particularly useful for finding books and journals but you can also use it to find individual journal articles.
The following academic databases are powerful tools which you can use to search across the literature for your subject area. The databases hold information about scholarly works, mostly journal articles and book chapters, and in many instances will link you through to a digital version of the full text. They will allow you to do a more in-depth and focused search compared to Library Search.
Indexes literature in the fields of Greek and Roman civilization, Latin linguistics, archaeology, history, mythology, religion, philosophy and palaeography.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Scopus includes references to journal articles, conference proceedings and books relating to science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Includes: Science Citation Index; Social sciences Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities.
ATLA is the principal academic database for religion and theology.
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
UK’s national thesis service providing records of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions and free access to the full text of as many theses as possible. Please note: UK theses not available on EThOS can be requested via the Inter-Library Loan service.
A scholarly index of film theory, history and criticism: particularly useful for finding scholarly writings on films, directors, cinema history. Further information about FIAF, and useful search tips can be found here: http://proquest.libguides.com/fiaf.
Records of scholarly research on the Middle Ages and the Renaissance in Europe (400-1700).
Authoritative guides to scholarship on a wide range of subjects, written and reviewed by leading academic experts.
Offers over 6,700 entries on all aspects of the classical world, including reception, anthropology, politics, government, and the economy; religion and mythology; law and philosophy; science and geography; languages, literature, art, and architecture; archaeology and historical writing; military history; social history, sex, and gender; and neighbors, adversaries, and influences.
Foundational and cutting-edge topics for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. The Philosopher’s Index is the most authoritative online bibliography in Philosophy. Serving philosophers worldwide, it contains over 650,000 records from publications that date back to 1902 and originate from 139 countries and 37 languages.
Includes citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day. Full-text is available for most dissertations added since 1997. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, it also includes UK & Ireland content.
Major database of academic journals, books, and primary sources for humanities.
Humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
A self-help tutorial on effective research with databases.
Advice and a self-help tutorial on finding material beyond items recommended in your reading list.
