LibGuides: Veterinary Sciences: Library databases

Library

Key databases for vet sciences

Bibliographic databases enable you to search for journal articles and other academic and scientific publications worldwide. They provide a more comprehensive search than Library Search, as they go beyond Library collections. These databases enable you to search for the primary literature i.e. the original research studies.

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science Core Collection is recommended initially for undergraduate coursework, as it is relatively easy to use, covers all academic disciplines, and enables you to browse citation networks of the publications you find.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
CAB Abstracts (on Ovid) is the key database for searching the Veterinary journals, and uses Subject Headings (CAB thesaurus) to make searching more comprehensive.
Medline on OvidSP This link opens in a new window
Medline (on Ovid) is the key database for searching the Biomedical journals, and uses Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to make searching more comprehensive [Note: contains almost identical data to PubMed, so you don't need to search both].
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS is a key database for searching the biology and zoology journals, and covers publications on every known species in the World. May be useful if you are researching global wildlife, or exotic species.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
The CINAHL database covers the nursing journals, which veterinary nurses may find useful.

Also useful for vets

For wider searches of the Veterinary and related literature you might find these resources useful:

Search (AGRICOLA, PubAg, and NALDC) This link opens in a new window
The US National Agricultural Library's search system for agricultural information.

British National Formulary (BNF)
Key information on the selection, prescribing, dispensing and administration of medicines. Access also to the British National Formulary for Children (BNFC).

MSD (Merck) Vetrerinary Manual This link opens in a new window
The Merck manuals have a long tradition of offering veterinarians a reference tool with information on treating a range of species. MVM Online is updated on a continual basis to address the growing range of new diseases, disorders, management issues, and other concerns faced by animal health professionals.
Embase This link opens in a new window
A database of articles published in the fields of medicine, biomedical science and related areas. It is particularly good for pharmacology and associated subjects.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
International database covering summaries of journal articles, book chapters, technical reports and citations to dissertations in the field of Psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus includes references to journal articles, conference proceedings and books relating to science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.

The Library provides members of the University with free access to a wide range of databases and digital resources:

The full list of Library databases for veterinary sciences

Database guides from Bristol medical librarians

Database guides have been produced by the Medical Librarians at Bristol to help you learn how to search the key databases. These are available via Blackboard (UoB login required):

Database guides for health and biomedical sciences

Training from Subject Librarians

Your Subject Librarian will provide a programme of lectures and training on library and information skills as part of your course, in consultation with your department or school.

If you need additional help with Library databases please email us:

medical-librarians@bristol.ac.uk

Database guides from the publishers

CAB Abstracts on Ovid (14:58 min)
Video - ideal for advanced users.
Medline on Ovid (18:11 min)
Video - ideal for advanced users.
Embase on Ovid
Video - ideal for advanced users.
Ovid training videos
Range of training videos: from basic to advanced searching.
Web of Science training videos
Training videos on the new Web of Science interface, and on the Endnote reference managing tools.
Scopus Academy
Online training in basic and advanced searching of the Scopus database.
CINAHL
The CINAHL (nursing) database is on the EBSCO platform and so these Quick Guides are helpful.

Species searches

These videos, created by the Veterinary Subject Librarian, give tips and advice for searching for the species commonly treated by vets in Library databases, and might help ensure you don't miss relevant publications for your research.