LibGuides: Theatre: Other useful resources

Library

Other useful resources

Institutional repositories

Research outputs from the Faculty of Arts can be found on the University's research repository - Explore Bristol Research.

You can access other institutional repositories and search their contents using the OpenDOAR directory.

Freely available resources

Here you will find additional open access web-based resources that could be useful to your studies. These have been reviewed by your Subject Librarian, and are freely available online rather than academic resources paid for by the Library.

Association of Performing Arts Collections
The subject specialist network of performing arts collections in the UK. The website also provides access to the UK Theatre Collections database.
BBC Shakespeare Archive
Programmes and photographs from the BBC's Shakespeare archive. Includes Shakespeare’s plays, poems and sonnets, documentaries, interviews and over a thousand stills of classic Shakespeare productions, as well as entertainment programmes referencing Shakespeare.
Black Plays Archive
An online catalogue for the first professional production of every African, Caribbean and Black British play produced in Britain.
British Library Theatre Archive Project
Part of British Library Sounds, this project aims to reinvestigate British theatre history 1945-1968, from the perspectives of both the theatregoer and the practitioner.
IMDB
A database providing access to information about individual movies and TV programmes.
Internet Archive
Luxonline
A website dedicated to British video and film art. The site contains an archive of works by film and video artists, including synopses, artist biographies, stills and streamed clips where available together with a section on the history of British film and video art, a glossary of terms, links to relevant web resources and reading material, and step-by-step guides on the techniques and processes in film and video art production.

Screenonline This link opens in a new window
A website devoted to the history of British film and television, and to Britain's social history as revealed by film and television. Please note that the video and audio clips can only be accessed through university computers, not through a home computer nor off campus.

Library Search

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search engine that provides a broad search of scholarly literature. It covers multiple disciplines and sources.

Using Google Scholar off campus

To get full-text links in your Google Scholar results, you must first tell Google Scholar that you have access to the University of Bristol library subscriptions by:

Selecting Settings from the top of the home page
Selecting Library Links
Searching for the University of Bristol and selecting it from the list
Saving your settings

You will now see 'Get It @ Bristol Univ' links next to items in your Google Scholar results that you can use to access the full-text provided by library subscriptions.