The Library provides access to many sources of media and audio / visual content. Here you can access a number of film and television resources that allow you to access feature films, television and radio broadcasts, live performances, and video clips online. For a full list of databases the Library subscribes to please see our recommended databases page.
Click on the information buttons below to find out more about each resource.
Enables staff and students to record and watch freeview broadcasts, create clips from new and archived TV and radio broadcasts, and embed them into Blackboard/ presentations. Please note: it can only be accessed in the UK. It is each user’s responsibility to ensure that the materials made available are used strictly within the terms and conditions of the licence.
Digital Theatre+ provides powerful ways to connect English and Drama students with dramatic texts, poetry and performance. 600 filmed productions and hundreds of interviews with actors, performers and directors.
Dramatic works by playwrights from antiquity to the present day.
Movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.
Database of UK television and radio programmes including terrestrial, cable, and satellite television (with regional variations); all national and many local radio stations; with data available at least 10 days before transmission.
A website devoted to the history of British film and television, and to Britain's social history as revealed by film and television. Please note that the video and audio clips can only be accessed through university computers, not through a home computer nor off campus.
The library provides access to a large collection of UK and international newspapers, including many current publications and historic archives. Newspapers can provide important cultural and societal context, and can include reviews of the arts and opinion pieces.
Royal National Theatre, by Man vyi, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
