Media and audio / visual
The Library provides access to many sources of media and audio / visual content. Here you can access a number of audio and visual resources that allow you to access feature films, television and radio broadcasts, and video clips online. For a full list of databases the Library subscribes to please see our recommended databases page.
Audio / visual databases
Click on the information buttons below to find out more about each resource.
- Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
Enables staff and students to record and watch freeview broadcasts, create clips from new and archived TV and radio broadcasts, and embed them into Blackboard/ presentations. Please note: it can only be accessed in the UK. It is each user’s responsibility to ensure that the materials made available are used strictly within the terms and conditions of the licence.
- Drama Online (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
Dramatic works by playwrights from antiquity to the present day.
- Garland Encylopaedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
Music research of all the world’s peoples with audio recordings.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.
Naxos Music Library
The Music Department has a subscription to Naxos Music Library. Students and staff in Music are given log in details as part of the departmental induction.
Newspapers
The library provides access to a large collection of UK and international newspapers, including many current publications and historic archives. Newspapers can provide important cultural and societal context, and can include reviews of the arts and opinion pieces.
