Evidence-based Medicine
The secondary literature synthesises the primary research into review articles, evidence summaries, clinical guidelines etc, making it easier for busy clinicians to quickly find the answers they need, based on the available evidence.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare which includes the following databases: Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Please note: to access off campus, select 'Sign in', 'Institutional login' and then choose 'University of Bristol'.
- BMJ Best PracticeClick on 'Log in' and select 'Access via your institution'. Search for, and select, NHS University of Bristol. Enter your main Athens username and password and then create a personal account.
- TRIP - Turning Research into PracticeTrip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
- Systematic Reviews: A practical guideThis 10 point guide, produced by the University of York, is a good introduction to the different stages of the Systematic Review process. This can also be useful if you are just looking to conduct an advanced literature search.
- PRISMAPRISMA is an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews and meta-analyses. PRISMA focuses on the reporting of reviews evaluating randomized trials, but can also be used as a basis for reporting systematic reviews of other types of research, particularly evaluations of interventions.
Grey literature
- Overton This link opens in a new window
NB: This database can be browsed on campus without signing into the Overton site. Off campus, users need to register on the Overton registration page with their @bristol.ac.uk email address. Overton allows users to discover policy documents in 180 countries and explore their links to each other and to the academic research that has informed them. Overton indexes work from governments, universities, IGOs, NGOs, research funders, publishers and think tanks to understand their role in the policymaking landscape. Users can track the evolution of ideas all the way from academic and think tank research to government reports and legislation.
Our Grey Literature quick reference guide has details of many sources of grey literature. It is available with our database guides to health and biomedical databases.
Systematic Reviews
Please look at our support pages for Systematic Reviews within the Health Sciences to see a step by step guide.
Relevant books for EBM
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions by The revised edition of the Handbook offers the only guide on how to conduct, report and maintain a Cochrane Review.
Evidence-Based Medicine by Now in its fifth edition, this classic introduction to the practice and teaching of evidence-based medicine is written for busy clinicians at any stage of their career who want to learn how to practise and teach evidence-based medicine (EBM).
Fundamentals of Evidence Based Medicine by This is a basic book on evidence-based medicine (EBM).
