You can use Library Search to search for general academic resources. It is particularly useful for finding books and journals but you can also use it to find individual journal articles.
The following databases will enable you to search across the academic literature for history of art to find relevant journal articles and book chapters.
The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its website. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
Offering exclusive digital access to Bloomsbury’s Cultural Histories series alongside an extensive eBook collection and primary sources from leading global institutions, Bloomsbury Cultural History offers students and scholars a unique approach to this diverse field of study.
Scholarly art encyclopedia, covering both Western and non-Western art, featuring: articles, bibliographies for further research, thousands of searchable images, access to The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopaedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Scopus includes references to journal articles, conference proceedings and books relating to science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Includes: Science Citation Index; Social sciences Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities.
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
UK’s national thesis service providing records of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions and free access to the full text of as many theses as possible. Please note: UK theses not available on EThOS can be requested via the Inter-Library Loan service.
An index of scholarly research on history, literature and culture from 400 to 1500AD. Geographical coverage includes North Africa, the Middle East and Europe.
Records of scholarly research on the Middle Ages and the Renaissance in Europe (400-1700).
Authoritative guides to scholarship on a wide range of subjects, written and reviewed by leading academic experts.
The national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.
Foundational and cutting-edge topics for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Includes citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day. Full-text is available for most dissertations added since 1997. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, it also includes UK & Ireland content.
Over 34,000 autobiographical entries of noteworthy and influential people who impact British life. Includes Who Was Who – Over 94,000 entries, for deceased people.
Major database of academic journals, books, and primary sources for humanities.
Humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
A self-help tutorial on effective research with databases.
Advice and a self-help tutorial on finding material beyond items recommended in your reading list.
