Skip to main content

Education

Newspapers and Film

Accessing newspaper content

Links to newspaper content can be found on the subject databases list and the newspapers page.

Current newspapers

You can access newspaper articles from the current or recent years via Lexis Library.  This contains full text versions of newspaper content, but not images.

Further advice on using Lexis Library to access newspaper content is available on the Library newspapers webpage.

Historical archives 

The library provides access to various newspaper archives - these cover historical editions and for copyright reasons do not cover recent editions.  These are digital versions of printed newspapers with exact copies of each page including images, formatting and layout.  Titles include:

Film and television

You can watch documentaries, feature films and TV broadcasts via the Library's film and TV databases.

Help with newspapers

Bundle of newspaperes

The Library has guidance for people looking to use newspaper archives for their research. Most newspapers can be found through Library Search. Historical newspapers may also be found in our Special collections, for example press cuttings and articles about historical figures.

Gale Primary Sources

Try visualisation tools to discover related concepts.

 

Gale Primary Sources is the platform for many of the newspaper archives. 

Use visual tools, such as the 'topic finder' to find resources, find new topics or keywords and to discover new connections in the results.