LibGuides: Finding Research Data: Quantitative data sources

Library

Quantitative data sources

The list of sources below contains quantitative and mixed methods data. Some are provided by the library and are only available to members of the university, so you will need to log in to access. Others are freely available online.

UK Data Service
UoB only
The UK’s largest collection of social, economic and population data sources. Contains major UK government-sponsored surveys, cross-national surveys, longitudinal studies, UK census data, international aggregate and business data. Research institutes include NatCen, Institute for Social and Economics Research (ISER) and the Centre for Longitudinal Studies (CLS) among many others.

USE THE HASSET HUMANITIES AND SOCIAL SCIENCE ELECTRONIC THESAURUS TO FIND DATA BY SUBJECT: https://hasset.ukdataservice.ac.uk/hasset/en/
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS) This link opens in a new window
Microdata for social and economic research containing census and survey data from around the world
CIRI Human Rights Dataset
Standards-based quantitative information on government respect for a wide range of internationally-recognised human rights for countries of all regime-types and from all regions of the world. The data set contains measures of government human rights practices, not human rights policies or overall human rights conditions (which may be affected by non-state actors).
Open Data Network
An initiative designed to foster data-centred collaboration between governments and the private sector, where you can search across tens of thousands of datasets
Statista
UoB only
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources
Mintel Academic and Market Sizes
Uob Only
In-depth, high quality market reports and data on goods worldwide. There are several reports published each year within all of the subsections of these broad headings:
UK: Automotive, Retail, Technology, Travel;
Europe: European Briefing;
China: Attitudes and Trends, Beauty and Personal Care, Food and Drink, Foodservice, Retail, travel & Leisure
Data.bris
University of Bristol Research Data Repository
Sage Research Methods Datasets
Downloadable datasets sourced from government and academic sources with step-by-step guides that walk you through quantitative and qualitative data analysis
DataCite Commons
Aggregates dataset records from multiple sources and allows searching of general repositories via a single interface.
Filter search results by 'Work Type' to 'dataset' in the left-hand menu
Figshare
An online open access repository of research outputs, including figures, datasets, images, and videos.
Filter search results by item type to 'dataset' in the left-hand menu
re3data
A registry of research data repositories. Browse by data type, country, subject
Data Portals.org
A comprehensive List of open data portals from around the world
Google dataset search
Discover data sets hosted in thousands of repositories across the web. Filter results based on the types of dataset you want (e.g., tables, images, text), or whether the dataset is available for free from the provider

UK & Europe wide

British Election Study

Surveys following each general election since 1964. Requires special software such as SPSS and Stata which can be downloaded from IT Services

CESSDA - Consortium of European Social Science Data Archives with over 40,000 datasets. Mainly quantitative but has some qualitative studies. Search for "qualitative" plus your topic. The thesaurus provides suggestions for keyword topics: https://thesauri.cessda.eu/elsst-5/en/. A user guide is available: https://datacatalogue.cessda.eu/documentation/

Data.gov.uk

The UK government's data and statistical service

Eurostat

Data from the statistical unit of the European Union

Social Trends

Social and economic data from a wide range of government departments and other organisations

North America

Data.gov
U.S. Government open data, providing access to hundred of thousands of datasets from state and federal agencies
General Social Survey
Nationally representative survey of adults in the United States conducted since 1972. The GSS collects data on contemporary American society in order to monitor and explain trends in opinions, attitudes and behaviours.
Harvard Dataverse
Research data from across research fields, from Harvard University and beyond
HealthData.gov
Health data from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Henry A. Murray Research Archive
Repository for quantitative and qualitative research data at the Institute for Quantitative Social Science, comprising over 100 terabytes of data, audio, and video.
Odesi - Canadian social science data repository
Canadian Opinion Research Archive data holdings with over 5,700 datasets curated by academic libraries in Canada

Australia

ADA Dataverse - Australian Data Archive of predominately quantitative datasets

Global South

BREAD data from developing countries

Resource to help locate data from developing countries

HSRC Research Data Service

The Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC) research data in support of evidence based human and social development

in South Africa and the broader region

Open Data for Africa
Statistical data and indicators relating to African Countries, providing multiple customized tools to gather indicators, analyse them, and export them into multiple formats

Worldwide

OECD iLibrary
UoB only
The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data
UN Data
Economic, social and environment indicators for all countries from the United Nations Statistics division
National Statistical Offices
UN central repository of country profiles of statistical systems. The country profiles include, among others, a brief history of the country's statistical system, legal basis, the statistical programme and much more
World Data Atlas
Economic, social and demographic indicators for all countries and regions, selected from over 200 public datasets
World Bank Data Catalogue
World Bank's development data
Open Data Inception
Over 2600 open data portals around the world

Subject Librarian help

If you need help finding data, please contact your subject librarian