Journal articles and databases
If you have a specific journal in mind search by the title using the ejournals A-Z index or alternatively you can search by title or subject at Browzine:
You can also search for a journal article using the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) or PubMed ID:
If you do not have a specific journal in mind then another effective way to search for journal articles, conference proceedings, and beyond is to use the large number of databases that the Library subscribes to.
The most popular for locating journal articles in Physics are:
- arXiv This link opens in a new window
- British Association for the Advancement of Science (Wiley Digital Archives) This link opens in a new window
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Online This link opens in a new window
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- INSPEC This link opens in a new window
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- SciFinder This link opens in a new window
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
The following platforms contain many of the largest collections of academic journals related to Physics. To access full-text articles from these platforms you may need to follow an institutional log-in (usually situated on the top banner or top right of the page) searching for 'University of Bristol'. This should then send you to the University's Single Sign On where you enter your username and password to be authenticated.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works published by Springer
Finding Full-Text
To access the full-text of resources, we recommend using the search tools and links provided by the Library on our webpages and in this guide. This way you will be authenticated and recognised as a member of the University of Bristol.
We also provide access to LibKey Nomad, a browser extension that links to full text articles available through Library subscriptions or Open Access alternatives (via Unpaywall data).
Database research tutorial
A self-help tutorial on effective research with databases.
Accessing resources off-site
Help and advice on accessing the Library's resources both on and off-site.
Database guides
These guides will help you get started with some of our databases. For more help and information on using these databases, please do get in touch.