Liberal Arts

A scholarly index of film theory, history and criticism: particularly useful for finding scholarly writings on films, directors, cinema history. Further information about FIAF, and useful search tips can be found here: http://proquest.libguides.com/fiaf.

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

Index of scholarly writings in languages, literatures, linguistics and related areas such as translation. Provides references to books, chapters, articles, theses. Highly recommended for Modern Languages research.

Authoritative guides to scholarship on a wide range of subjects, written and reviewed by leading academic experts.

The national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.

Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.

An excellent resource for literary study and research, including references to scholarly books, theses, journals and other critical materials, and approximately 500,000 literary works from around the globe. Highly recommended for in depth research.
Note: ProQuest One Literature incorporates Literature Online (LION)

Scopus includes references to journal articles, conference proceedings and books relating to science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.

Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Includes: Science Citation Index; Social sciences Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities.

Indexes literature in the fields of Greek and Roman civilization, Latin linguistics, archaeology, history, mythology, religion, philosophy and palaeography.

Anthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive index of journal articles and edited works for: social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.  It covers materials from the early 19th century to today.

Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.

UK’s national thesis service providing records of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions and free access to the full text of as many theses as possible. Please note: UK theses not available on EThOS can be requested via the Inter-Library Loan service.

Index of scholarly research taken from: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.

An index of scholarly research on history, literature and culture from 400 to 1500AD. Geographical coverage includes North Africa, the Middle East and Europe.

Records of scholarly research on the Middle Ages and the Renaissance in Europe (400-1700).

Index of scholarly writings in languages, literatures, linguistics and related areas such as translation. Provides references to books, chapters, articles, theses. Highly recommended for Modern Languages research.

Perspectives into centuries of women's writing: includes entries on authors' lives and writing careers, contextual material, timelines, bibliographies.

Scholarship focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

Foundational and cutting-edge topics for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. The Philosopher’s Index is the most authoritative online bibliography in Philosophy. Serving philosophers worldwide, it contains over 650,000 records from publications that date back to 1902 and originate from 139 countries and 37 languages.

Includes citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day. Full-text is available for most dissertations added since 1997. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, it also includes UK & Ireland content.

International bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines.

Over 34,000 autobiographical entries of noteworthy and influential people who impact British life. Includes Who Was Who – Over 94,000 entries, for deceased people.