Skip to main content

History

Detail from portrait of Thomas Cranmer by Gerlach Flicke

Academic literature

 

Library Search

You can use Library Search to search for general academic resources.It is particularly useful for finding books and journals but you can also use it to find individual journal articles.

Wills Library

Subject databases

The following academic databases are powerful tools which you can use to search across the literature for your subject area. The databases hold information about scholarly works, mostly journal articles and book chapters, and in many instances will link you through to a digital version of the full text. They will allow you to do a more in-depth and focused search compared to Library Search.

 

Key databases
Other useful databases

Key databases

JSTOR logo

JSTOR

Major database of academic journals, books, and primary sources for humanities.

Project Muse logo

Project Muse

Humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.

Web of Science logo

Web of Science

Comprehensive general database for finding scholarly literature across multiple subject areas including arts and humanities.

Database research tutorial

Effective research with databases

A self-help tutorial on effective research with databases.

Understanding your resource list

Understanding your resource list

A self-help tutorial on understanding resource lists and planning your reading.

Looking beyond your reading list

Advice and a self-help tutorial on finding material beyond items recommended in your reading list.