Skip to main content

Film & Television

Books and Journals

 

Most of the print resources for Film and Television will be found in the Arts and Social Sciences Library. Use Library Search to access eBooks or to find the exact location of a print item in the Library, and to search for other materials.

You can also use Library Search to search for journal articles using specific topic words or the journal titles. Alternatively you can browse journal titles on our find an e-journal page.

Wills Library

 

Special Collections

Rare books and other materials are kept in our Special Collections, in the Arts and Social Sciences Library. Major collections include the Feminist Archive South, Penguin Archive, and Political archives. 

 

Theatre Collection

The University of Bristol Theatre Collection has a library of theatre related books, periodicals and original archival material, including the Women's Theatre Collection.

 

Can't find an article that you need to read?

If an article is important for your research, you can make an inter-library loan request for it

Suggest a book purchase

undefined

Featured books

An Introduction to Television Studies

In this comprehensive textbook, now updated for its third edition, Jonathan Bignell provides students with a framework for understanding the key concepts and main approaches to Television Studies, including audience research, television history and broadcasting policy, and the analytical study of individual programmes. 

Film Dialogue

Film Dialogue is the first anthology in film studies devoted to the topic of language in cinema, bringing together leading and emerging scholars to discuss the aesthetic, narrative, and ideological dimensions of film speech that have largely gone unappreciated and unheard. 

British Women Film Directors in the New Millennium

This book focuses on the output of women film directors in the period post Millennium when the number of female directors working within the film industry rose substantially. Despite the fact that nationally and internationally women film directors are underrepresented within the industry, there is a wealth of talent currently working in Britain.