Journals and databases are the best place to conduct a thorough search of the literature on a particular topic. Databases allow you to search across thousands of academic and scientific publications worldwide, and include sources such as journal articles, conference proceedings, technical information, and much more.
If you have a specific journal in mind search by the title using the ejournals A-Z index or alternatively you can search by title or subject at Browzine:
If you do not have a specific journal in mind then another effective way to search for journal articles, conference proceedings, and beyond is to use the large number of databases that the Library subscribes to.
The most popular for locating journal articles in Engineering Design are:
Collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information.
Online access to the full text of all current British Standards and ISO Standards.
BSOL documents can only be downloaded and viewed in Adobe software when you also have File Open plug-in installed. For University devices, you will need to download the FileOpen client from the Software Centre. For personal devices you will need to install the FileOpen plugin directly from the FileOpen website: https://plugin.fileopen.com/all.aspx
Alternatively, you can use the Quick View option in BSOL to view them in your browser.
Comprehensive engineering database comprising journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and preprints. Features the latest cutting-edge findings as well as historical research and innovations in engineering disciplines.
The CIS platform provides access to key construction standards and technical information for building projects in the UK and Republic of Ireland. The Governmental and Professional Bodies standards support the construction lifecycle from concept and preparation, through design and construction, to operational and ongoing use.
Please note: you need to register to access Digimap modules the first time. Click to 'Log In' in the top right hand corner.
Digimap comprises maps and map data, including the following: Digimap - Ordnance Survey Collection, Environment Digimap, Historic Digimap, Geology Digimap, Marine Digimap, Aerial, Lidar, Global, Society, Verisk and AgCensus. Create or interrogate a map online by selecting an appropriate base map, adding annotations and customising the content, use measurement and query tools to learn more about any study area. Download the raw spatial data in a wide range of formats.
Engineering Case Studies Online is a single, comprehensive source for a wide range of video and text material focusing on engineering failures and successes. The collection covers over 300 videos and 70,000 pages of quality documentaries, accident reports, experiments, visualizations, case studies, lectures and interviews from leading engineering institutions around the world.
Validated design data, methods and software for engineers.
A comprehensive online civil engineering resource. We do not subscribe to all content.
Technical literature from IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology). Contains journals, conference papers, technical standards, ebooks and more.
Bibliographic information from the world's literature on all aspects of physics, electronics, control engineering and information technology.
Engineering data and technical references to solve engineering problems.
SAE MOBILUS includes over 200,000 resources covering a wide range of technologies surrounding the aerospace, automotive, and commercial vehicle industries.
Vast database of full-text handbooks, videos and case studies of qualitative and quantitative research methods. Also includes a research project planner, with step by step help on each stage of the research process, for all types of dissertation or research project.
Scopus includes references to journal articles, conference proceedings and books relating to science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Includes: Science Citation Index; Social sciences Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities.
To access the full-text of resources, we recommend using the search tools and links provided by the Library on our webpages and in this guide. This way you will be authenticated and recognised as a member of the University of Bristol.
We also provide access to LibKey Nomad, a browser extension that links to full text articles available through Library subscriptions or Open Access alternatives (via Unpaywall data).
A self-help tutorial on effective research with databases.
Help and advice on accessing the Library's resources both on and off-site.
