The Medical Library holds the main collection of print books, journals and other resources for biomedical sciences. The print collections are arranged according to the Cunningham classification scheme. As well as print books, the Library also provides access to many ebooks.
If Resource Lists are available for your unit, you'll find a link in Blackboard. Resource lists link directly to ebooks and also show you where to find print copies. The Library provides access to all the essential, recommended and further reading highlighted in your reading lists.
You can also use Library Search to look for print books and e-books. You can search by words from the title, author's name or topic. Use the filters on the left to narrow your search down to books, a particular library location or to e-books. More help and guidance with using Library Search is available on this page.
If you feel that the collection is missing a key item you need then please let us know via this form. Your recommendations are always welcome.
'Molecular Biology of the Cell', Seventh Edition has been extensively revised and updated with the latest research in cell biology. It describes the current understanding of cell biology and includes basic biochemistry, experimental methods for investigating cells, the properties common to most eukaryotic cells, the expression and transmission of genetic information, the internal organization of cells, and the behaviour of cells in multicellular organisms.
Immunobiology is the premier text for immunology at the advanced undergraduate, graduate, and medical school levels. Beginning students appreciate the book's clear writing and informative illustrations, while advanced students and working immunologists value its comprehensive scope. Every chapter is reviewed with experts to ensure accuracy, authority, currency, and depth.
The Immune System is a concise yet thorough human-oriented introduction to how the human immune system works. It provides an up-to-date presentation of the field, written in an accessible style, replete with relevant medical examples. Plentiful illustrations and micrographs complement and illuminate the explanations. The Fifth Edition is supported by InQuizitive, Norton's award-winning, easy-to-use adaptive learning tool that provides student practice and promotes critical thinking.
Robbins and Kumar's Basic Pathology, 11th Edition, offers a rich understanding of all essential pathology concepts from trusted names in the field. This updated edition thoroughly covers key pathologic processes and the time-honored tools of gross and microscopic analysis, while also retaining a strong emphasis on clinicopathologic correlations and the impact of molecular pathology on the practice of medicine. Highlights pathogenesis, morphology, and pathophysiologic content throughout. Features increased representation of diverse populations throughout the text, including clinical photographs of skin lesions in multiple skin types and a new section on the role of socially defined race in health disparities.
Emery's Elements of Medical Genetics and Genomics offers current, complete information with a strong basis in practical clinical genetics and genomics.
Covers key topics such as pharmacogenetics, personalized medicine, prenatal testing, reproductive genetics, and ethical and legal issues in medical genetics. Divides the text into three easy-to-use sections: The Scientific Basis of Human Genetics, Genetics in Medicine and Genomic Medicine, and Clinical Genetics, Counseling and Ethics.