Key Biochemistry databases
If you want to do a thorough search of the literature on a topic, the best way to do this is to use a database.
A database indexes journals and other sources of information, meaning you may search across all these indexed sources at once.
Databases are not always easy to use. You will receive training in searching biomedical databases from your subject librarian. Please get in touch with your subject librarian if you'd like any help.
There are lots of different databases, with different topic coverage. Here are some databases which are particularly useful for biochemistry students and researchers.
- BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- Embase This link opens in a new window
- Medline on OvidSP This link opens in a new window
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
- Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
Search over 50,000 protocols and methods.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Regional databases
- African Index Medicus This link opens in a new window
Regional database from the World Health Organisation (WHO) providing access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries.
- African Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
African journal literature originating from a wide base of publishers and societies on the African continent.
- China Academic Journals via CNKI This link opens in a new window
Please note: full text downloads of patents is temporarily suspended from April 2023.This is due to Cybersecurity Administration of China (CAC) imposing new oversight requirements on specific content types appearing in the China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI)
China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI), is a database of Chinese knowledge-based information resources. This platform covers journals, theses, proceedings, newspapers, books and ancient books.
Please note: before accessing full text pdfs, you should ensure that you have the Simplified Chinese Font Pack for Adobe Acrobat Reader. - Eldis This link opens in a new window
Eldis provides free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. Eldis is hosted by the Institute of Development Studies.
- Global Health Observatory This link opens in a new window
Global health data on a wide range of themes from the World Health Organisation.
- Global Index Medicus This link opens in a new window
The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. It is produced by the World Health Organisation (WHO). Regional Index Medici are available: African Index Medicus (AIM), Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region (IMEMR), Index Medicus for the South-East Asia Region (IMSEAR), Latin America and the Caribbean Literature on Health Sciences (LILACS), Western Pacific Region Index Medicus (WPRO).
- J-STAGE This link opens in a new window
J-STAGE is a platform for scholarly publications in Japan. It is developed and managed by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST).
- Journals Online Project This link opens in a new window
A collection of platforms for journals from a range of locations including African Journals Online, Bangladesh Journals Online, Cetnral America Journals Online, Mongolia Journals Online, Nepal Journals Online Philippines Journals Online, Sri Lanka Journals Online and Vietnam Journals Online.
- KCI Korean Journal Database on Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Regional content from scholarly journals in South Korea.
- LILACS This link opens in a new window
LILACS (Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences Literature) database.
- SciELO Citation Index on Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Science, social science, and arts and humanities research in published in open access journals from Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa.
Here is a full list of databases available through the University of Bristol library that might be useful for Biochemists.
- Full list of databases for BiochemistryA full list of the Biochemistry databases available through the University of Bristol library.
Skills and training
Your Subject Librarian will provide training on searching databases and other resources, in consultation with your department or school.
You can also contact me or the Medical Library team for 1:1 support on using databases.
These interactive tutorials take you through the process of using Medline, PubMed and Embase to conduct thorough literature searches. UoB login required.
Database guides
Browzine
Browzine is a website/app that allows you to browse, read and keep up-to-date with the key journals in your subject field on your PC, smartphone or Tablet.