Introduction
The library provides access to a wide range of material for assignments and research. Resource lists on Blackboard provide details of essential, recommend and further reading for individual units and link to library print books, ebooks, journal articles, videos and other online resources. If you are researching your own topic, or want to go beyond your reading list, there is plenty of material available to you via library search tools and databases.
This guide will help you:
- discover the most useful sources of information for your topic
- reference appropriately
- explore research methods material
New Resources
PressReader
Contains around 7000 newspaper and magazine titles
Policy Commons
Discover and follow high-quality policy research from 210 countries and territories produced by world’s leading policy experts, charities, think tanks, IGOs and NGOs
BFI Player
Video on-demand streaming service, showing critically acclaimed classic, cult and archive films.
You need to register with your UoB email address via the student URL: https://player.bfi.org.uk/students. Once you have submitted the form, select ‘University of Bristol’ from the Institution dropdown list and login with your UoB credentials when prompted. You can then simply login until with your individual email/password combination via the main BFI link above until 30/09/2024. You'll need to resubscribe each year by following the student link and selecting 'Already have an account? Sign in'. We recommend ticking the student newsletter box.
Please note:
• BFI Player is unavailable outside the UK
• Rentals and festival events are not included in the subscription offer
Take a break...
Box of Broadcasts (BoB)
Watch broadcast TV - new and old programmes and films that have been shown on UK TV
Kanopy
Movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos
BFI Player
Watch critically acclaimed classic, cult and archive films from the BFI National Archive
You need to register with your UoB email address via the student URL: https://player.bfi.org.uk/students.
Pressreader
Digital access to 7000+ of the world's most popular newspapers & magazines.
Libby
"Bristol Reads" ebook and audiobook collection, or browse our Bristol Reads print collection
Introduction tutorial
This quick guide introduces the different resources and services available through the library.
Library Search
Search books, journal articles and more provided by the University of Bristol Library
