Skip to main content

Russian and Czech

Special collections owl

Primary sources and reference materials

Primary sources include works of literature, newspaper archives, images, and films. Reference materials include dictionaries and encyclopedias.

You have access to a wide range of digital sources, and also printed materials in the main collections and our Special Collections.

Digital primary sources

Overview

You have access to a wide range of online newspapers. A very handy overview of our newspaper content provides access to individual resources. See the list below for details of selected titles.

Overview

These resources are excellent for finding authoritative definitions of words and prhrases, and for researching the lives and contexts of writers and historical figures. 

Overview

Via these resources you have access to millions of freeview TV and radio programmes, newsreels and screened performances of threatrical works. 

Overview

These resources provide access to images of artworks, architecture, sculpture and related art forms.

Printed primary sources

Search for primary sources among the Library's collections of printed editions of literary works, letters, diaries and facsimiles.

Special Collections

Special Collections image

The University's Special Collections encompass a wide range of material from different time periods and on numerous subjects.

Some material can be viewed online and you can consult physical items by appointment in the Special Collections Reading Room on the first floor of the Arts and Social Sciences Library.

Finding and using archives in the UK

Proposed historic design for Clifton Suspension Bridge

Our Introduction to finding and using archives in the UK guide provides further information about using UK archives for your research.