Skip to Main Content

French

Introduction

Academic books image

Damien McManus

Your Subject Librarian

Damien McManus

Email: Damien.McManus@bristol.ac.uk

Book a meeting with me.

The Library provides access to a wide range of books and other resources for assignments and research.

This guide will help you to:

  • discover the most useful sources of information for your study and research
  • reference sources you've used in your work accurately

Introduction to the Library

 

This quick guide introduces the different resources and services available through the library.

Black History Month

Publishing Africa in French: Literary Institutions and Decolonization 1945-1967

The history of post-war writing in French has tended to separate African literature from French metropolitan literary production. The same separation resonates in today's global French literary marketplace, still dominated by Parisian publishing houses and metropolitan literary kudos. This study historicises the aesthetic and socio-economic implications of that evident asymmetry.

Kinship Across the Black Atlantic: Writing Diasporic Relations

This book considers the meaning of kinship across black Atlantic diasporas in the Caribbean, Western Europe and North America via readings of six contemporary novels. It draws upon and combines insights from postcolonial studies, queer theory and black Atlantic diaspora studies in novel ways to examine the ways in which contemporary writers engage with the legacy of anthropological discourses of kinship, interrogate the connections between kinship and historiography, and imagine new forms of diasporic relationality and subjectivity. 

Transnational French Studies: Postcolonialism and Littérature-Monde

The 2007 manifesto in favour of a "Littérature-monde en français" has generated new debates in both "francophone" and "postcolonial" studies. Praised by some for breaking down the hierarchical division between "French" and "Francophone" literatures, the manifesto has been criticized by others for recreating that division through an exoticizing vision that continues to privilege the publishing industry of the former colonial métropole. Does the manifesto signal the advent of a new critical paradigm destined to render obsolescent those of "francophone" and/or "postcolonial" studies? Or is it simply a passing fad, a glitzy but ephemeral publicity stunt generated and promoted by writers and publishing executives vis-à-vis whom scholars and critics should maintain a skeptical distance?

Francophone Afropean Literatures

What does Afro-Europe signify? This volume explores the concept and possibility of a black European community by analysing the ways in which contemporary Francophone African writers articulate and interrogate their complex relationships with European society, culture and history. Through thedifferent contributions in this volume, readers will discover the symbiotic ways in which Africa has transformed/been transformed (in/by) Europe and in turn how Africanness has (re)defined Europeanness.To this end, the volume places scholarly articles addressing the relationship between the francophone and Afro-European context alongside new, specially commissioned short stories and essays by some of the most critically-acclaimed and influential producers of Afropean writing today: Fatou Diome,Alain Mabanckou, Leonora Miano, Wilfried N'Sonde, Sami Tchak and Abdourahman Waberi. 

Colonial Culture in France since the Revolution

This landmark collection by an international group of scholars and public intellectuals represents a major reassessment of French colonial culture and how it continues to inform thinking about history, memory, and identity. This reexamination of French colonial culture, provides the basis for a revised understanding of its cultural, political, and social legacy and its lasting impact on postcolonial immigration, the treatment of ethnic minorities, and national identity.

Thinking Black: Britain 1964-1985

It was a common charge among black radicals in the 1960s that Britons needed to start "thinking black." As state and society consolidated around a revived politics of whiteness, "thinking black," they felt, was necessary for all who sought to build a liberated future out of Britain's imperial past. In Thinking Black, Rob Waters reveals black radical Britain's wide cultural-political formation, tracing it across new institutions of black civil society and connecting it to decolonization and black liberation across the Atlantic world. He shows how, from the mid-1960s to the mid-1980s, black radicalism defined what it meant to be black and what it meant to be radical in Britain.

Routledge Handbook of African Literature

The turn of the twenty-first century has witnessed an expansion of critical approaches to African literature. The Routledge Handbook of African Literature is a one-stop publication bringing together studies of African literary texts that embody an array of newer approaches applied to a wide range of works. This includes frameworks derived from food studies, utopian studies, network theory, eco-criticism, and examinations of the human/animal interface alongside more familiar discussions of postcolonial politics.

Contingent Canons: African Literature and the Politics of Location

This book explores the mechanisms through which 'African literature', as a market category, has been consecrated within the global literary field. Drawing on archival, textual and field-based research, it proposes that the normative story of African literary writing has functioned to efface a broader material history of African literary production located on and oriented to the continent itself.

Staying Power: the history of Black people in Britain

Staying Power is a panoramic history of black Britons. First published in 1984 amid race riots and police brutality, Fryer's history performed a deeply political act, revealing how Africans, Asians, and their descendants had been erased from British history.

Infamous Bodies: early Black women's celebrity and the afterlives of rights

The countless retellings and reimaginings of the private and public lives of Phillis Wheatley, Sally Hemings, Sarah Baartman, Mary Seacole, and Sarah Forbes Bonetta have transformed them into difficult cultural and black feminist icons. In Infamous Bodies, Samantha Pinto explores how histories of these black women and their ongoing fame generate new ways of imagining black feminist futures.

Book cover

Feminism, interrupted: disrupting power

Plastered over t-shirts and tote bags, the word 'feminist' has entered the mainstream and is fast becoming a popular slogan for our generation. But feminism isn't a commodity up for purchase; it's a weapon for fighting against injustice.

This revolutionary book reclaims feminism from consumerism through exploring state violence against women, reproductive justice, transmisogyny, sex work, gendered Islamophobia and much more, showing that the struggle for gendered liberation is a struggle for justice, one that can transform the world for everybody.

Put Your Hands on Your Hips and Act Like a Woman: Black history and poetics in performance

In a gathering of griot traditions fusing storytelling, cultural history, and social and literary criticism, Put Your Hands on Your Hips and Act Like a Woman "re-members" and represents how women of the African diaspora have drawn on ancient traditions to record memory, history, and experience in performance.  These women's songs and dances provide us with a wealth of polyphonic text that records their reflections on identity, imagination, and agency, providing a collective performed autobiography that complements the small body of pre-twentieth-century African and African American women's writing.

The Persistence of Memory: remembering slavery in Liverpool, 'slaving capital of the world'

The Persistence of Memory is a history of the public memory of transatlantic slavery in the largest slave-trading port city in Europe, from the end of the 18th century into the 21st century; from history to memory. Mapping this public memory over more than two centuries reveals the ways in which dissonant pasts, rather than being "forgotten histories", persist over time as a contested public debate.

NASA and the Long Civil Rights Movement

As NASA prepared for the launch of Apollo 11 in July 1969, many African American leaders protested the billions of dollars used to fund 'space joyrides' rather than help tackle poverty, inequality, and discrimination at home. This volume examines such tensions as well as the ways in which NASA's goal of space exploration aligned with the cause of racial equality. It provides new insights into the complex relationship between the space program and the civil rights movement in the Jim Crow South and abroad.

Afropean: notes from Black Europe

Afropean is an on-the-ground documentary of areas where Europeans of African descent are juggling their multiple allegiances and forging new identities. Here is an alternative map of the continent, taking the reader to places like Cova Da Moura, the Cape Verdean shantytown on the outskirts of Lisbon with its own underground economy, and Rinkeby, the area of Stockholm that is eighty per cent Muslim. Johny Pitts visits the former Patrice Lumumba University in Moscow, where West African students are still making the most of Cold War ties with the USSR, and Clichy Sous Bois in Paris, which gave birth to the 2005 riots, all the while presenting Afropeans as lead actors in their own story.

Race, rights and reform: Black activism in the French Empire and the United States from World War I to the Cold War

Sarah C. Dunstan constructs a narrative of black struggles for rights and citizenship that spans most of the twentieth century, encompassing a wide range of people and movements from France and the United States, the French Caribbean and African colonies. She explores how black scholars and activists grappled with the connections between culture, race and citizenship and access to rights, mapping African American and Francophone black intellectual collaborations from the Paris Peace Conference in 1919 to the March on Washington in 1963.

Slavery and Bristol

This book is broken down into five sections. Section one: A brief history of how most societies have chosen to embrace slavery, how Europeans became increasingly involved in enslaving Africans, and Bristol's early connections with the slave trade up to 1700, including the role of the Merchant Venturers. Section two: A first-hand and at times harrowing account of what it was like to be enslaved, written in 1796 by Olaudah Equiano. Section three: Bristol's so-called 'golden age' in the eighteenth century when it was at the forefront of Britain's involvement in the slave trade. Section four: How a dedicated group of individuals fought for the abolition of slavery and the struggle that generated in Bristol. The final section shows how slavery survived its abolition and generated a racism that is still far too prevalent. It examines events such as the Bristol Bus Boycott, the St Paul's riots and, most recently, the Black Lives Matter protest.

Black Historical Newspapers

Essential primary source content and editorial perspectives of the most distinguished African American newspapers in the U.S. Each of the ten Historical Black Newspapers provides researchers with unprecedented access to perspectives and information that was excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources. The content, including articles, obituaries, photos, editorials, and more, is easily accessible for scholars in the study of the history of race relations, journalism, local and national politics, education, African American studies, and many multidisciplinary subjects.

Empire Online

This project has been developed to encourage undergraduates, postgraduates, academics and researchers to explore colonial history, politics, culture and society. Material in the collection spans five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires; from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others, right through to de-colonisation in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American Imperialism.

Library Search

Search books, journal articles and more provided by the University of Bristol Library

Suggest a book purchase

Row of books

Suggest a book purchase

If there is a book you would like us to buy, please fill out the form.