Skip to Main Content

Introduction to finding and using archives in the UK

Locating archives

Where can archives be found?

Archives in the UK are held by all different kinds of organisations, institutions or bodies.

​National Archives 

The National Archives, in Kew, London, is the official archive of UK government and of England and Wales. It holds documents created by the government and major courts of law.  The National Library of Wales holds many other documents relating to Wales.  National Records of Scotland and the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland are the official archives of their respective countries.    
 

County and local record offices

County and local record offices hold archives relating to the local area, including documents of local organisations, families, estates, churches, hospitals, businesses and individuals.

Universities and other educational institutions

Universities, schools and other educational institutions hold the records of their institution and, especially in the case of the larger institutions, archives relating to the local region and to areas of research which are or have been important at that institution, and papers of prominent individuals associated with the institution.

Other organisations

Museums, businesses, clubs, societies, religious organisations and charities may hold their own archives. 

Private archives​

Some archives are held in private hands.

 

How do I find the archive I need?

There are various sources you can use to point you to archives that might have material relevant to your research.

The National Archives​

The National Archives have several helpful sources of information. 

  • Discovery, the online catalogue of The National Archives contains descriptions of archival r​ecords from over 2,500 archives across the UK, as well as from The National Archives itself.

  • The National Archives research guides on different themes contain advice about how to find material pertaining to those themes in the National Archives, including important points to be aware of, such as changes in terminology over time.  Depending on the subject, they will often point to other relevant (physical or online) collections, catalogues or further reading.

  • Find an archive includes addresses and contact details of archives across the UK. ​

Archives Hub

The Archives Hub contains descriptions of archives held at over 350 institutions across the UK, including some images and links to digitised material where available.

Regional networks ​

Some regional networks have their own catalogues or websites that you can use to find information about what might be held. E.g.

Catalogues ​of individual institutions

If you suspect that a particular institution may hold material relevant to your research you can search their online catalogue, if they have one, but be aware that they probably have material that is not listed in the online catalogue, so it may be worth contacting the institution directly.

Printed sources​

Online archives

Online archives

Major libraries and archives, commercial publishers and research projects are increasingly making digitised collections available online.  

When searching for collections, be aware that terminology may vary, e.g. “digital”, “virtual”, “online”, “archive”, “library”, “collection”. 

Access to collections from commercial publishers will probably require a subscription.  You can find collections subscribed to by the University of Bristol Library, as well as other resources, on the Library's databases, newspapers and government and official publications pages, as well as on the relevant subject support pages. 

Searching for Archives in Europe

Archives Portal Europe

Search the Archives Portal Europe for information on archival material and archival institutions in Europe.