The Library provides access to many sources of media and audio-visual content. Here you can access films, documentaries, music, television, plays, radio broadcasts, and video clips online. For subject specific audio-visual material and collections take a look at the Library Guide for your Subject. For a full list of databases the Library subscribes to please see our recommended databases page.
You need to register with your UoB email address via the student URL: https://player.bfi.org.uk/students. Once you have submitted the form, select ‘University of Bristol’ from the Institution dropdown list and login with your UoB credentials when prompted. You can then simply log in with your individual email/password combination via the main BFI link. You'll need to resubscribe each year by following the student link and selecting 'Already have an account? Sign in'. We recommend ticking the student newsletter box.
Please note:
• BFI Player is unavailable outside the UK
• Rentals and festival events are not included in the subscription offer
Enables staff and students to record and watch freeview broadcasts, create clips from new and archived TV and radio broadcasts, and embed them into Blackboard/ presentations. Please note: it can only be accessed in the UK. It is each user’s responsibility to ensure that the materials made available are used strictly within the terms and conditions of the licence.
Movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.
Film adaptations of classic and contemporary plays.
Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality archive recordings never previously seen outside of the NT’s Archive, the National Theatre Collection contains 70 filmed performances. We have access to collections 1, 2 and 3.
Groundbreaking productions of three plays by William Shakespeare: Julius Caesar, Henry IV and The Tempest, all set in a women's prison.
Digital Theatre+ provides powerful ways to connect English and Drama students with dramatic texts, poetry and performance. 600 filmed productions and hundreds of interviews with actors, performers and directors.
