Skip to main content

Engineering Mathematics

undefined

Journal articles and Databases

The University of Bristol Library subscribes to a huge number of journals and conference proceedings electronically.

If an electronic version is not available, we may have it in print. This is sometimes the case for older journal articles (pre-1999). Print copies of journals and conference proceedings are held in our libraries and can be located using Library Search. If in doubt, please contact your Subject Librarian.

  • If you do not have a specific journal in mind then the most effective way to search for journal articles, conference proceedings, and beyond is to use the large number of bibliographic databases that the Library subscribes to.

If you are on campus you can access most databases and ejournals directly.

For off-campus access use the links to resources from Library pages like this to ensure you gain access to all our subscribed content. You can also instal a browser plugin like EndNote Click to help.

The most popular databases for locating journal articles in Engineering Mathematics are:

Database research tutorial

Effective research with databases

A self-help tutorial on effective research with databases.

Accessing resources off-site

undefined

Help and advice on accessing the Library's resources both on and off-site.

Guide to Searching the ACM Digital Library

Keeping up to date

The ZETOC service will email you the tables of contents of new journal issues as they are published. It covers a wide range of subjects and you can select multiple journals.

Many bibliographic databases allow you to set search alerts which will automatically inform you of new publications issued on topics that are of interest to you.

To set up a search alert you will normally have to take 4 steps:

  1. Set up a personal account on the database you wish to use, this will allow you save searches and alerts.
  2. Create your search and run it to check the results.
  3. Save the search as an alert.
  4. Set up the details of the alert by indicating how you would like to receive the alert (via E-mail or RSS feed) and with what frequency.

Citation Alerts

Citation alerts can be set to automatically notify you when a particular research article or conference paper is cited by a new publication appearing in a bibliographic database.

Want to know who is citing you?

Some databases also allow you to set up citation alerts to an author rather than a single publication. You can use citation alerting to help you keep track of who is citing your own work. Citation alerts can be set up on scientific literature databases such as SCOPUS and Web of Science.