The Library provides comprehensive access to newspapers from around the world. This page provides information on how to access:
Our newspaper databases provide access to the latest UK and international news. You can search across multiple titles at once or browse the most recent issues of specific newspapers.
**Note: you need to register with your UoB email account the first time you access this resource**. A weekly magazine-format newspaper which is also published digitally. Its primary focus is current affairs, international business, politics, and technology. The University of Bristol’s online subscription covers unlimited access to all articles at Economist.com, including blog content updated throughout the week.
Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, and many other fields.
Coverage of all UK newspaper titles, including broadsheets, tabloids and regional newspapers.
Digital newsstand featuring 7000+ of the world's most popular newspapers & magazines. Please note: before accessing and using PressReader, please read this guide.
Westlaw is primarily a legal database, but also provides access to a range of sources, including UK national and regional newspapers, international newspapers and newswires, and foreign language news.
You can search across hundreds of global newspaper archives at once on the Gale and ProQuest platforms:
This historical and recent newspaper collection provides online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of politics, society and events.
Alternatively, you can narrow your focus by searching in smaller collections and individual titles:
ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages.
The Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection represents the largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library and includes more than 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period. This collection helps researchers chart the development of the newspaper as we now know it, beginning with irregularly published transcriptions of Parliamentary debates and proclamations to coffee house newsbooks, finally arriving at newspaper in its current form.
The Financial Times began as a City of London news sheet and grew to become one of the best-known and most-respected newspapers in the world. Along the way, the Financial Times—printed on its distinctive salmon-colored paper—has chronicled the critical financial and economic events that shaped the world, from the late nineteenth and entire twentieth centuries to today. This historical archive is a comprehensive, accurate, and unbiased research tool for those studying economic and business history and current affairs of the last 120 years.
The Independent is a major British daily national newspaper, launched in 1986 as an antidote to its often overtly political rivals. The publication's evolution has been considerable, but it has also retained a distinctive position in British journalism. Featuring the work of journalists and columnists from across the political spectrum, the paper is generally regarded as centrist, presenting alternative perspectives on the news of the day.
A London based newspaper, with national and Commonwealth influence, focused on the social narrative of and for the man on the street, complementing the generalized perspective of the national titles, alongside the raw, first-impression coverage of international events.
Founded in 1903, the Mirror plays a pivotal role in the history of journalism. Peaking in 1967, with a daily circulation of 5.25 million, the newspaper has had a history full of highs and lows. Today, it is the only mainstream left-wing tabloid remaining in the UK. With over a century of publication, the Mirror is a key part of understanding British historical journalism.
The Picture Post's innovative use of photojournalism captured the imagination of the British public, with readership at its peak estimated at eighty percent of the population. In the era before television, it became the window on the world for ordinary people, bringing the major social and political issues of the day into popular consciousness.
Britain's largest Sunday newspaper, The Sunday Times is generally considered to align with the centre-right of British politics. Though under common ownership with the Times since 1967, The Sunday Times remains to this day editorially independent, with its own remit and perspective on the news.
Launched in 1855 as an affordable newspaper, by 1876 The Telegraph was the largest-selling newspaper in the world. The newspaper was directed at a wealthy, educated readership and is commonly associated with traditional Toryism, despite more "liberal" beginnings supporting Whig politics. However, this shifted in the late 1870s, when the newspaper began to support British Prime Minister Benjamin Disraeli over the "Eastern Question".
Read by both world leaders and the general public, The Times has offered readers in-depth, award-winning, objective coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication. The political position of The Times is considered to be centre-right.
African Newspapers: The British Library Collection features nearly 60 newspapers from across the African continent, all published before 1900. Originally archived by the British Library, these rare historical documents are now available for the first time in a fully searchable online collection.
The Rand Daily Mail, published daily in Johannesburg, is a critically important title that pioneered popular journalism in South Africa. It is renowned today for being the first newspaper to openly oppose apartheid and contribute to its downfall.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Australian Collection covers leading issues and events, like the gold rush, federation, international politics, society and business. Includes three publications: The Age; The Sydney Herald; The Sydney Morning Herald.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
17 premier international newspapers and publications that chronicled world events through firsthand accounts and real-time reporting. Titles include The Hindustan Times, The Jerusalem Post and The Korea Times.
The prime printed source for the history of the foreign presence in China from around 1850 to the 1940s. No other newspaper existed over such an extended period, and covers it in such depth and variety.
This Hong Kong-based, English-language newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
India's oldest English-language newspaper, The Times of India's first edition was published in 1838. The digital archive includes every issue up to 2010.
First published in Madrid in 1903, ABC is the oldest newspaper still operating in Madrid, the second largest newspaper in Spain, and one of three newspapers of record in Spain. It has always been considered the most well written among Spanish newspapers with many great writers and intellectuals contributing over the years. Politically, ABC is known for supporting the Spanish monarchy and for its conservative political views. The newspaper uses extensive photography and was the first European newspaper to use photoengravings.
Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia (Известия, News) was founded in March 1917. During the Soviet era, Izvestiia became the mouthpiece of the Kremlin, informing the public of government policies through its pages. Less ideologically vocal than official party newspapers, Izvestiia also played a real role during the Khrushchev-era “thaw,” when the paper’s editors advocated for de-Stalinization and reform. Known for its serious and balanced treatment of subject matter, Izvestiia has traditionally been a popular news source within intellectual and academic circles.
Le Monde, covers leading issues and events, like World War II and the Fifth Republic, to French, European and international politics, society and business.
The official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Pravda originated as an underground daily workers’ newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Throughout the Soviet era, party members were obligated to read Pravda. Today, Pravda still remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation, an important political faction in contemporary Russian politics.
RetroNews, the press site of the National Library of France, provides access to more than 2,000 press titles published between 1631 and 1952. RetroNews is both a digital space for consultation of archives, a research tool and a magazine to discover history through press archives. Please note: you will be required to register for a personal account with your UoB email address on the site to access content.
14 influential African American newspapers that documented the Black experience in America from 1893 to 2010. These publications provide firsthand accounts of pivotal moments in history through the lens of distinguished Black journalists and community leaders.
15 influential Canadian newspapers from five provinces. Each title includes content from first historical issue to most recent, spanning from the 18th century to today.
A unique look at history through the eyes of the Communist Party USA. Workers’ rights, social issues, national and international politics, culture and Party activity are just some of the topics to be explored on the pages of these Communist Party newspapers, featuring such notable contributors as writer Richard Wright, folk singer Woody Guthrie and political cartoonist Robert Minor.
ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages.
Historical Newspapers: U.S. Collection explores America’s events and stories—past and present—through a collection of over 130 exclusive local newspaper titles across 36 states and growing.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. Metro Collection delivers access to 17 of America’s most influential news titles, including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, Chicago Tribune plus other renowned sources like The Boston Globe, The Baltimore Sun, and Newsweek.
An as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America. The collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end.
This historical newspaper provides online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
This historical newspaper provides online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
A small selection of print newspapers are also available in our libraries, including:
