Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Includes: Science Citation Index; Social sciences Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities.

Disabilities in Society, Seventeenth to Twentieth Century presents monographs (books), manuscripts, and ephemera that provide a historical view of disabilities from the seventeenth to twentieth century. The archive provides many avenues to approach disability history. It demonstrates how persons with disabilities have worked for equal rights through activism and advocacy. Some materials include personal memoirs of experiences with disabilities or the accounts of those who treated them. Rehabilitation, treatments, methods of education, and other forms of remediation are documented. Reports and proceedings of organizations and institutions that sought to help or heal those with disabilities are available for review. Policies and programs concerning persons with disabilities are also available (i.e. labour laws, legal rights, rehabilitation programs, etc.). Researchers can examine disability as a form of institutional discrimination and social exclusion as well as an empowered movement. Documentation shows how people deemed to be disabled were classified and treated, while some materials show how people have overcome physical or mental challenges in their lives and challenged perceptions of what it means to be disabled.

The Independent is a major British daily national newspaper, launched in 1986 as an antidote to its often overtly political rivals. The publication's evolution has been considerable, but it has also retained a distinctive position in British journalism. Featuring the work of journalists and columnists from across the political spectrum, the paper is generally regarded as centrist, presenting alternative perspectives on the news of the day.

Engineering data and technical references to solve engineering problems.

Please note: to access this database, you need to register with your University of Bristol email address. We recommend you select the following options from the dropdown menu: Department: HR/Learning & Development; Industry: Education; Seniority: Student.

A collection of men’s-interest magazine backfiles serving research in men’s studies/history but also offering important additional perspectives for women’s studies. It includes some of the earliest publications of this type – National Police Gazette and Argosy – and covers key topics such as fashion, sports, health, and arts/entertainment.

Coverage: 1845 - 2015

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers. With 1.8 million pages available, the collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end. Major newspapers stand alongside those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labour groups, and the Confederacy. Titles were selected by leading scholars who study the nineteenth-century American press, and headnotes have been included for the individual titles.

Showcases a range of ideas, initiatives, and social movements devoted to people-powered politics and organizing from the nineteenth through twenty-first centuries. Ranging beyond a few specific movements, the archive paints a broad picture of the counterculture and many disparate organizations that represent this moment in modern Western history. Although the archive concentrates mainly on the United States and the United Kingdom, it also covers events and topics from around the globe.

Drawn from The National Archives (UK) and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, this collection contains a wealth of information regarding the British government's efforts to investigate and prosecute Nazi crimes during the period 1944-1949. The evidence gathered sheds light on almost every aspect of the Holocaust, from the concentration camp system to the mass murder of the “incurably sick” in psychiatric hospitals. More importantly, it gives a voice to the victims of these atrocities, many of whom testified about their experiences immediately after the war.

RetroNews, the press site of the National Library of France, provides access to more than 2,000 press titles published between 1631 and 1952. RetroNews is both a digital space for consultation of archives, a research tool and a magazine to discover history through press archives.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century. Archival collections have been sourced from more than 60 libraries at institutions such as the Amistad Research Center, Bibliothèque nationale de France, the National Archives, Oberlin College, Oxford University, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and Yale University.

The backfiles of more than 25 periodicals reflecting the 20th/21st–century history of a variety of movements and ideologies on the political left. These titles include Marxist, socialist, communist, social democratic, and Fabianist publications, addressing key topics and events such as labour history / workers' rights, international socialism, anti-Nazi movements, Red Scares, class struggles, campaigns / legislation, and youth radicalism.

Over 500 titles from Springer's reference collection including encyclopedia and handbooks, across the humanities and social sciences.

Please send any feedback to: Subject-Librarians@bristol.ac.uk

Interactive, easy-to-use 3D anatomy and biology content. Please note: you need to register with your UoB email address to access this site.