Key Population Health Sciences databases
If you want to do a thorough search of the literature on a topic, the best way to do this is to use a database.
A database indexes journals and other sources of information, meaning you may search across all these indexed sources at once.
Databases are not always easy to use. You will receive training in searching biomedical databases from your subject librarian. Please get in touch with your subject librarian if you'd like any help.
There are lots of different databases, with different topic coverage. Here are some databases which are particularly useful for Population Health Sciences students and researchers.
- Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) This link opens in a new window
Database of complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry, and palliative care.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL includes journal articles, books, dissertations, conference proceedings and standards of practice related to nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare which includes the following databases: Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Please note: to access off campus, select 'Sign in', 'Institutional login' and then choose 'University of Bristol'. - Embase This link opens in a new window
A database of articles published in the fields of medicine, biomedical science and related areas. It is particularly good for pharmacology and associated subjects.
- Epistemonikos This link opens in a new window
A database of evidence-based healthcare systematic reviews maintained by the Epistemonikos foundation.
- Medline on OvidSP This link opens in a new window
International literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
- Overton This link opens in a new window NB: This database can be browsed on campus without signing into the Overton site. Off campus, users need to register on the Overton registration page with their @bristol.ac.uk email address. Overton allows users to discover policy documents in 180 countries and explore their links to each other and to the academic research that has informed them. Overton indexes work from governments, universities, IGOs, NGOs, research funders, publishers and think tanks to understand their role in the policymaking landscape. Users can track the evolution of ideas all the way from academic and think tank research to government reports and legislation.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed contains references to journal papers from Medline and life sciences journals.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
International database covering summaries of journal articles, book chapters, technical reports and citations to dissertations in the field of Psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus includes references to journal articles, conference proceedings and books relating to science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Includes: Science Citation Index; Social sciences Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities.
Regional databases
- African Index Medicus This link opens in a new window
Regional database from the World Health Organisation (WHO) providing access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries.
- African Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
African journal literature originating from a wide base of publishers and societies on the African continent.
- China Academic Journals via CNKI This link opens in a new window
Please note: full text downloads of patents is temporarily suspended from April 2023.This is due to Cybersecurity Administration of China (CAC) imposing new oversight requirements on specific content types appearing in the China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI)
China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI), is a database of Chinese knowledge-based information resources. This platform covers journals, theses, proceedings, newspapers, books and ancient books.
Please note: before accessing full text pdfs, you should ensure that you have the Simplified Chinese Font Pack for Adobe Acrobat Reader. - Eldis This link opens in a new window
Eldis provides free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. Eldis is hosted by the Institute of Development Studies.
- Global Burden of Disease study This link opens in a new window
Explore the results of the 2019 Global Burden of Disease study from the Institute of Health Metrics and Evaluation at the University of Washington.
- Global Health Estimates This link opens in a new window
The World Health Organisation's (WHO) Global Health Estimates (GHE) provide the latest available data on death and disability globally, by region and country, and by age, sex and cause.
- Global Health Observatory This link opens in a new window
Global health data on a wide range of themes from the World Health Organisation.
- Global Index Medicus This link opens in a new window
The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. It is produced by the World Health Organisation (WHO). Regional Index Medici are available: African Index Medicus (AIM), Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region (IMEMR), Index Medicus for the South-East Asia Region (IMSEAR), Latin America and the Caribbean Literature on Health Sciences (LILACS), Western Pacific Region Index Medicus (WPRO).
- J-STAGE This link opens in a new window
J-STAGE is a platform for scholarly publications in Japan. It is developed and managed by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST).
- Journals Online Project This link opens in a new window
A collection of platforms for journals from a range of locations including African Journals Online, Bangladesh Journals Online, Cetnral America Journals Online, Mongolia Journals Online, Nepal Journals Online Philippines Journals Online, Sri Lanka Journals Online and Vietnam Journals Online.
- KCI Korean Journal Database on Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Regional content from scholarly journals in South Korea.
- LILACS This link opens in a new window
LILACS (Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences Literature) database.
- SciELO Citation Index on Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Science, social science, and arts and humanities research in published in open access journals from Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa.
Here is a full list of databases available through the University of Bristol library that might be useful for Population Health Sciences students and researchers.
It is also worth noting, due to the multi-disciplinary nature of research done within Population Health Sciences, that some of the databases listed under other subjects may well also be useful.
Systematic Reviews
If you are undertaking a systematic or scoping review have a look at our guide to Systematic Reviews within the Health Sciences.
Skills and training
Your Subject Librarian will provide training on searching databases and other resources, in consultation with your department or school.
You can also contact me or the Medical Library team for 1:1 support on using databases.
These interactive tutorials take you through the process of using Medline, PubMed and Embase to conduct thorough literature searches. UoB login required.
Database guides
Browzine
Browzine is a website/app that allows you to browse, read and keep up-to-date with the key journals in your subject field on your PC, smartphone or Tablet.
Sage Research Methods
A comprehensive guide to all stages of the research process, from writing research questions to collecting data and writing up your findings.
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Vast database of full-text handbooks, videos and case studies of qualitative and quantitative research methods. Also includes a research project planner, with step by step help on each stage of the research process, for all types of dissertation or research project.