Music

Periodicals from the late 17th century to the early 20th century.

Comprises the backfiles of music magazines devoted to these key 20th/21st popular music genres. Titles from outside of the mainstream, published between 1959 and 2020, document the history of these musical movements as well as the cultural, aesthetic, and political responses to their historical period.

Music, Radio and the Stage includes 15 trade and popular magazines covering all aspects of the music industry, theatre and broadcast radio in the US and UK covering the period 1880-2000.

Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.

Mass Observation Online makes available personal diaries, surveys, and other materials to provide records of public opinion from 1937 to 1967.

Documents the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, includes works on music theory and libretti, and A/II: "Music manuscripts after 1600" .

Over 400,000 articles on artists from Aaliyah to ZZ Top by the finest music writers of the last 60 years.

The backfile of Rolling Stone, from its launch in 1967 to the present. One of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, it initially sought to reflect the cultural, social, and political outlook of a generation of students and young adults. It has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture. Major journalists and authors to have contributed include Hunter S. Thompson, Patti Smith, and Tom Wolfe.

Coverage: 1967 - current

An essential reference resource for scholars of global hymnody, with information on the hymns of many countries and languages, and a strong emphasis on the historical as well as the contemporary.

UK’s national thesis service providing records of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions and free access to the full text of as many theses as possible. Please note: UK theses not available on EThOS can be requested via the Inter-Library Loan service.

Music research of all the world’s peoples with audio recordings.

An index of scholarly research on history, literature and culture from 400 to 1500AD. Geographical coverage includes North Africa, the Middle East and Europe.

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

Oxford's Music reference resources in one location, incorporating: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd Edition (2001); The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992); The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd Edition (2001); The Oxford Companion to Music; and the 2nd revised edition of The Oxford Dictionary of Music.

Includes citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day. Full-text is available for most dissertations added since 1997. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, it also includes UK & Ireland content.

International bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines.

Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Includes: Science Citation Index; Social sciences Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities.