Finding books and ebooks
Books and ebooks can be found on Library Search. You can search by author, title, and keyword. The catalogue will provide you with a link to the ebook or with details of the library that holds the print book together with its location and availability. Use the options on the left-hand menu of Library Search to refine results to show only ebooks.
The Queen's Building Library holds the main print collections for Mathematics (pure and applied) and related topics. Print collections are arranged by the Library of Congress Classification scheme (an alpha-numerical scheme). Many more, usually older books are also kept off-site in our Research Reserve facilities and can be requested via Library Search.
You may also obtain information about the books (and book chapters) that you will need to read from your Reading List which is available via the unit pages on Blackboard. The Library provides access to all the essential, recommended and further texts on your reading lists. The lists are linked to the library catalogue allowing you to easily connect to eBooks or find the location/availability of physical books.
Highlight ebook series and collections include:
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
- Lecture Notes in Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Full text to most volumes in this prestigious book series
- Lecture Notes in Mathematics This link opens in a new window
Full text of most volumes in this prestigious book series
- O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly for Higher Education (OHE) is a collection of full-text books and other resources specializing in computer programming and information technology. The database includes more than 35,000 book titles, plus 30,000+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, expert playlists, audio books, and more.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works published by Springer
Mathematics books
Blackboard
Blackboard
Access unit resource lists from the unit pages in Blackboard. Log in with your University of Bristol username and password.
Ebooks: all you need to know
- Ebooks: all you need to knowDescription of the ebook market and licences
Suggest a book purchase
Where are the Mathematics and Statistics books?
The majority of Mathematics and Statistics books can be found at shelfmark QA in the Main Reading Room of the Queen's Building Library.
QA1-939 - Mathematics
QA273-280 - Probabilities. Mathematical Statistics